The Picture of Marginalia

Jeff the Bibliothecary recently raised the question of marginalia. I’m not exactly sure where I stand on the issue. I don’t think it’s wrong to write in a book, and it is certainly quicker and easier than taking notes on every interesting tidbit. In How to Read a Book, the authors recommend “making a book your own” by marking significant words or passages, writing comments in the margins, creating an index of major points in the back and an outline of the book in the front. I can see how this would help the reader understand and assimilate a book, but I can’t help feeling that all that marking would be a distraction during future readings.

I am sure about marginalia in library books though: offenders should be forced to reshelve a hundred books for every mark before they are allowed to borrow again. Today I made a grand trek to obtain the only library copy of Norton Critical Edition of The Picture of Dorian Gray in the region, and to my horror it is heavily marked (see below). Did this reader think they were the only person on the planet who would ever want to read that book? Did they think the library obtained the book especially for them? I call it an acute case of biblionarcissism.

Grrrr...

Luckily the marginalia is mostly in pencil, which I am now in the process of erasing (just doing my part for the old alma mater). I am also tempted to write a warning against vandalism in the front of the book to deter future offenders. Perhaps two wrongs can make a right. Any suggestions for a witty anti-marginalia foreword suited to self-absorbed undergraduates are welcome.

9 comments on “The Picture of Marginalia

  1. Stefanie says:

    But is the marginalia interesting? You could leave a comment or two on the comments of the other person–sort of like a conversation in the book.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I'm afraid the many (many) comments are of the dry, academic variety, like “epigrams & other texts” or “Platonic.” No bold opinions or personal revelations, I'm afraid. They're history.

  3. Kate S. says:

    “Biblionarcissism” is a marvellous term! I think that university students are the worst offenders as far as marking up library books is concerned. I rarely find the books that I borrow from the public library in that condition, but it's almost routine in university library books. Very distressing.

  4. Sylvia says:

    I think you're right, although I must say I can't recall seeing any marginalia in science books or journals. Maybe that has something to do with science's emphasis on keeping proper records. That concept gets drilled into science students from a young age and perhaps it inhibits us from making ad hoc notes in books, especially books that aren't our own.

  5. Quillhill says:

    I agree when the book is not your own, the rules are different. If I am trying to read something, I find someone else's notes, or even highlighting, distracting. My mind automatically places emphasis on anything highlighted, and notes influence my responses. I can't get my own subjective interpretation and feeling. When the book isn't your own, it's not marginalia any more, it's graffiti.

  6. tony says:

    I'm all for “making a book your own” – but only if it is your own. Otherwise it's a kind of violation. Offenders should definitely have their pencils cut off.

  7. Lelia says:

    Skip jotting notes inside library book … buy a journal or type in a blog … thats MO
    If you feel the need to “mark” in your personally owned books – go for it — or use a post it!! LOL

Comments are closed.