Federico Uribe: Once Upon A Time

Once upon a time there was a forest. Its trees were turned into books. And some of those books became a handcrafted echo of that forest.

I stumbled across Federico Uribe in a horrible article about private libraries built for show. While the wealthy “recycle” books to puff up their image, Uribe uses discarded books to create art. In his 2010 installation, “Once Upon A Time,” he takes the recycling full circle by making trees out of books.

As an ecologist I love that he has trees representing a diversity of global ecosystems, and has populated his book forest with a variety of animals—birds, butterflies, squirrels, frogs, and spiders. Below is just a little taste of the exhibition. I highly recommend viewing the slide show and virtual tour for much more.

Federico Uribe: Ceiba pentandra - Kapok

Federico Uribe: Phoenix dactylifera - Mangrove

Federico Uribe: Cedrus libani - Cedar of Lebanon

Federico Uribe: Gingko biloba

11 comments on “Federico Uribe: Once Upon A Time

  1. Annie says:

    These are superb and I would have missed them completely if you hadn't written about them. Many thanks.

  2. Seesaw says:

    If you mean this, cute one, yes I saw it yesterday, but was too “busy” with Brideshead!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Annie, you're welcome, I'm glad I discovered them too!

    Seesaw, an owl seems very fitting for a book tree. 😉

  4. This is a very creative way of creating art!

  5. Sylvia says:

    mattandjojan, yes, it's a great idea and a beautiful result!

  6. Stefanie says:

    Love these! I like the yellow tree with the little owl best. I think it would look very nice on a wall in my house 🙂

  7. Sylvia says:

    Stefanie, perhaps you could do your own. It would be one way to compactly store books one isn't going to read again but can't bear to part with. 😀

  8. Stefanie says:

    Yeah, I'll start working on it in my spare time 😉

  9. Sylvia says:

    😀 Well, you'll need something to do when you retire… 😉

  10. great says:

    We stumbled over here coming from a different web page
    and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page again.

Comments are closed.