International Society of Altered Book Artists

International Society of Altered Book Artists«We are a non-profit Organization dedicated to promoting altered books as an art form and to provide a Forum for the exchange of skills, experiences, and ideas through education, exhibits, and events.»

«But what IS an Altered Book?»

«It is any book, old or new that has been recycled by creative means into a work of art. They can be … rebound, painted, cut, burned, folded, added to, collaged in, gold-leafed, rubber stamped, drilled or otherwise adorned … and yes! it is legal!»

Jeanne Minnix: Poetry

5 comments on “International Society of Altered Book Artists

  1. […] way to reuse discarded books AND provide programming for youth (or adults). There is even an International Society of Altered Books! Try it with old card catalog cards or find other ideas by searching on […]

  2. codyrachel says:

    I think this is a wonderful group – I just found my membership card from 08!
    I became quite sick after that -; sooo I thought I would after 8 years (shaking head) I would check in and see what is going on –
    I truly love the respect and care the books are treated with and I really love the way an artists minds while cresting a book!
    Thank you all for this!

  3. S. C. Foster says:

    I am looking for an artist who uses encyclopedias for their work and needs books.

    • Tony Dagradi says:

      Hello,
      I just found the Classical Bookworm site. I am a musician and artist in New Orleans and enjoy altering vintage books and encyclopedias. Do you have a set(s) that you would care to share or sell? To see some of my recent work check out my website at: http://www.tonydagradi.com/art
      Thanks,
      Tony Dagradi

      • Sylvia says:

        Wow, that’s amazing work, Tony. I don’t have any suitable books to share (and anyway postage from Canada is expensive) but I wish you luck in your artistic endeavors.

Comments are closed.