It’s That Time of Year…

Time for my favourite church book sale! I didn’t do as well as I did in 2011 and 2012, but I certainly didn’t come home empty-handed, and I did get a couple of gems.

  • Arts and the Man: A Short Introduction to Aesthetics by Irwin Edman. I mostly got it for the clever title.
  • Totalitarianism and Antisemitism by Hannah Arendt. Alas they did not haveΒ Imperialism, which is the second volume of Arendt’s trilogy, The Origins of Totalitarianism. I’ll have to find it somewhere else. If I don’t get arrested first.
  • Norton Critical Edition of The Communist Manifesto. OK, now I’m definitely going to get arrested.
  • The Secrets of Chinese Meditation by Lu K’uan YΓΌ. Something to keep me occupied while in detention.
  • The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying by Sogyal Rinpoche. In case I never get out of detention
  • London: The Biography by Peter Ackroyd. Supposed to be very good. It’ll go nicely with the epic novel London by Edward Rutherfurd which I got at the thrift store a while back.
  • The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature. Requires no explanation!
  • The Vogue Sewing Book and The Vogue Sewing Book of Fitting, Adjustments and Alterations. A nice matching set of basic references.
  • A World History of Photography by Naomi Rosenblum. Massive. Weighs 6 pounds. Entirely pre-digital; in fact it really only covers the first 100 years or so. The second century of photography won’t fit in a book!

It’s just as well I did not come home with too many books since I am running out of places to put them. I’m still waiting for someone to invent anti-gravity ceiling bookshelves…

8 comments on “It’s That Time of Year…

  1. kcecelia says:

    Excellent haul. I own Peter Ackroyd’s London: The Biography, and I love it. I’m certain yours was more cost effective.

  2. An Experiment with the Well-Educated Mind says:

    Wow! You’ve got some great reads. I enjoyed your positive humor, too.

  3. Yes, excellent! I am sure you’ll find place for these books on your old shelves! πŸ™‚

    • Sylvia says:

      I somehow managed to find homes for them. Now I just need to find a home for the stuff I moved off the shelves… πŸ˜€

  4. Stefanie says:

    What great finds! Jealous of the two Vogue books! I have the Ackroyd book and actually bought it in London, hauled it home in my luggage. This was many years ago before they started charging extra for heavy baggage! Enjoy your new finds!

  5. Great collection! Would really be interested to read “Secrets of Chinese Meditation” and “Tibetan Book of Living and Dying.”

    –Matt

Comments are closed.