Little Libraries

I’ve never been particularly interested in miniature books. I did have a miniature Alice in Wonderland when I was a child, but I don’t know what happened to it so I guess it wasn’t that precious to me. But lately I’ve come across various miniature libraries that do intrigue me. Like miniature houses (and Alice too), they invite one into a mysterious world where things are different. What could be in those books? Who might read them? What else happens there? I wonder…

Click the images to see more.

Edwardian Miniature Revolving Bookcase

LEGO Castle Library

Library in an Altoids tin

Trois machines qui veulent savoir by Marc Giai-Miniet.

Last but not least is a miniature library that I have seen myself, in Queen Mary’s doll house at Windsor Castle. I was only 10 when I visited so I don’t remember much about the castle but I do remember the doll house! Apparently the books are real, and some were written specifically for the doll house but have not been published or perhaps even read before. It truly is a library for another world with its own secret literature. There is a project on now to reproduce one of the books in full size, but that still leaves a number of unique books unavailable to us commoners. Should we leave them that way or bring them into our world too?

Queen Mary’s doll house library

8 comments on “Little Libraries

  1. Re: Queen Mary’s library: I was thinking what a shame that some of them may have never been read. Nonetheless, I absolutely adore it. I want a doll house just for the library w/ miniature books.
    Thanks for sharing the pictures.

  2. Book crafting, love it! I wish that LEGO Library existed when I was a kid, the castle set was always my favourite.

  3. Stefanie says:

    I so want that Lego library! Do you think if we all petition Lego, they will make a kit?

  4. […] of minuscule, the Classical Bookworm finds wonderful tiny libraries (including one built from […]

  5. […] How about the lighter side to end May 2013?  Let’s start our end-of-the-month fun with a look at some miniature book libraries. […]

What do you think?

