Jane, Jane, Jane

I thought I’d share some Jane Eyre tidbits I’ve run across lately. First of all there is this gorgeous photo from the latest film adaptation of Jane Eyre:

Jane Eyre 2011

This beautiful image of the authoress at work (recall that Jane Eyre was written as an autobiography) immediately became my desktop wallpaper. Click to see it in its high-resolution glory. And here is what she is writing:

Jane Eyre manuscript

If that inspires you to write, you might enjoy applying your pen to this lovely Charlotte Brontë notebook, the cover of which is printed with a portion of the Jane Eyre manuscript.

Paperblanks Jane Eyre notebook

Finally, Mallory Ortberg was inspired to write a little précis of Jane Eyre. I think it captures Jane’s sensible, no-nonsense attitude in contrast to the overwrought males around her. Here is a snippet:

JANE WHERE HAVE YOU GONE
I AM BEREFT AND WITHOUT MY JANE I SHALL SINK INTO ROGUERY
i am  with my cousins
WHICH COUSIN
IS IT THE SEXY ONE
Please don’t try to talk to me again
IT IS YOUR SEXY COUSIN
“ST. JOHN”
WHAT KIND OF A NAME IS ST. JOHN
I’m not going to answer that
I KNEW IT
DID YOU LEAVE BECAUSE OF MY ATTIC WIFE
IS THAT WHAT THIS IS ABOUT
yes
absolutely

That pretty well sums it up, no?

4 comments on “Jane, Jane, Jane

  1. Stefanie says:

    What a pretty notebook! I must say your precis gets right to the point. Well done! 🙂

    • Sylvia says:

      Oh, it’s not my précis, it was written by Mallory Ortberg. If you click on the link you can read the whole thing, which is not long. It is well done indeed!

  2. Sarah says:

    I love Jane Eyre! One of my all time favourite books! The notebook is adorable, did you make it?

    -Sarah
    http://laceandlavenderhints.blogspot.ca

    ps. I’m your newest bloglovin follower 🙂

    • Sylvia says:

      Hi Sarah! Thanks for following. 🙂 The notebook is made by Paperblanks (click the link in the text up above). I’m definitely getting one though I’m not sure I’ll have the courage to deface it with my own writing!

Comments are closed.