Keep Calm and Carry Books

I’ve recently become a fan of the Keep Calm and Carry On poster from WWII Britain. I have stationed small versions of the poster in strategic locations to remind me to cross my bridges when I come to them, rather than what I usually do, which is to design, construct, pave, and paint bridges in every direction on dry land, just in case a river suddenly appears.

Obviously a lot of people find the poster both amusing and reassuring because it has become a hot web sensation. It seems somehow appropriate that the poster was rediscovered by the owners of an absolutely gorgeous bookstore in a converted train station in northern England. Get out your bookstore bucket list because you might have something to add to it after seeing this video.

6 comments on “Keep Calm and Carry Books

  1. Love the simplicity of the poster! Love the message, too – “Keep Calm and Carry On.” Very appropriate in our present society, where we usually find ourselves in the midst of a cacophony of noise and a frenzy of activity…

    By the way, the best way to calm down is to sit quietly and read a good book… πŸ™‚

    ~ Matt

  2. Stefanie says:

    OMG! I wonder if that bookstore would want to hire an American? I will gladly fill the spot if they do. Love the poster, so very British and a useful daily reminder even for today. I saw the coffee mug in there with it on the side and am considering acquiring one. I do heartily agree with Matt’s suggestion on the best way to keep calm πŸ™‚

    • Sylvia says:

      Perhaps you and the Bookman could do some kind of international exchange there. πŸ˜‰ I just got a Keep Calm notebook. πŸ™‚ The mug looks good too. Tea and a book may be the best way to keep calm!

  3. Fay says:

    Sylvia, a book I read a few years ago about the history of fashion had some wonderful British WWII posters about being frugal for the war effort.

    I especially like “Mend and Make Do,” in several versions, to encourage sewing. Then there are all the marvelous Victory Garden posters like this one.

    Great stuff.

    • Sylvia says:

      Hi Fay! I found that Mend and Make Do poster on Europeana. Very cute and upbeat. How strange that today the patriotic thing to do during a war is to go shopping. Perhaps the government knows that if it asks citizens to make sacrifices for the war effort they might start asking why and who knows what that would lead to!

Comments are closed.