Eleven Questions Meme

Lately I’ve been cleaning up broken links in my old posts (which you may have seen popping up in your feed reader), and I noticed that I used to participate in a lot more book blog memes in my earlier years of blogging. As if to remedy my recent memelessness Stefanie just posted the Eleven Questions Meme.

The rules are as follows:

  1. Post the Rules.
  2. Answer the eleven questions that were asked of you by the person who tagged you.
  3. Make up eleven new questions and tag eleven new people to do the meme.
  4. Let them know you tagged them.

Here’s my Q & A:

  1. What is the first book you remember reading?
    The line between being read to, looking at the pictures, and actual reading is pretty fuzzy, but it was probably something by Dr. Seuss.
  2. What book on your shelves have you owned the longest?
    I think my longest-owned books are Sketco the Raven and Nkwala, both of which I believe are egregiously overdue at my elementary school library…
  3. What is the oldest book on your shelves in terms of when that particular edition was published?
    My oldest book is my grandfather’s Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 9th edition, published in 1922. It’s the size of a mass market paperback, while the latest edition is an 8-pound behemoth. We’ve learned a lot in the last 90 years!
  4. If you could meet a character from any book, what character would you like to meet?
    Jane Eyre, though she would probably think I was soft, and she’d be right!
  5. What no longer living author do you wish were alive to write just one more book?
    Do you have to ask? Charlotte BrontΓ«! Jane Austen a close second.
  6. Where is your favorite place to read?
    Under the electric blanket. πŸ™‚
  7. Do you like to snack while reading?
    No, I usually don’t want any distractions when I’m reading. My free hand often has a pencil in it anyway.
  8. Do you read with music playing or the television on?
    See above.
  9. Has the internet shortened your attention span and made it harder to read books as cultural critics claim, or is your ability for sustained reading just as good or better than it ever was?
    Yes, my attention span is definitely shorter. After a couple of pages my brain starts to wonder if it isn’t time to switch to something else for a bit. I also have to keep sticky notes nearby to write down any queries or bloggable quotes so I don’t act on them immediately.
  10. Do you belong to a book group?
    Yes, it’s called the internet. πŸ˜‰
  11. What book or author haven’t you read yet and are always saying you’d like to get around to β€œsomeday”?
    There really isn’t one in particular, but I want to read all the classics eventually.

Wait a minute, isn’t the 11th question supposed to be whether I want the original poster to answer the questions…?? I do!

Now for my eleven questions:

  1. Did you come from a family of bibliophiles or were you the only bookish one?
  2. Do you still like the books you read as a child?
  3. What is the first thing you do when you bring a new book home from the store or open a book parcel?
  4. Would you pay more for books that were more beautiful?
  5. How hard is it for you to “edit” your shelves and let books go, on a scale of one to ten with ten being well-nigh impossible?
  6. How often do you go to the library?
    a) A few times a year.
    b) A few times a month.
    c) They know me by name.
    d) I have my own parking spot.
  7. How good are you about returning library books?
    a) I know when my books are due.
    b) I need due date reminders.
    c) I sometimes return books overdue.
    d) The library has named a wing after me, paid for with my fines.
  8. Which library would you most like to get locked in to for a night?
  9. If you owned a bookstore, what would make it special?
  10. What do you say when visitors ask, “Have you read all these books?!”?
  11. Would you like me to answer these questions myself?

Like Stefanie I will break the rules and just invite anyone who wants to play to answer the questions in the comments or on their own blog. Consider yourself tagged!


Addendum

Since Stefanie answered #11 affirmatively, here are my answers to my questions:

  1. Absolutely. We are bookish going back at least four generations.
  2. Alas the books that seemed most magical to me, namely the Narnia and the Dark is Rising series, have lost their charm now. But the mystical sense they awakened in me has stayed, so for that I am grateful.
  3. Usually I will flip through it, probably with a silly grin on my face or with exclamations of “oooooo!” or “teehee!”.
  4. I would, and I think that’s the direction publishers should go in if they want print books, especially hardcovers, to survive. Make them collectable, not disposable.
  5. It’s getting easier but since I keep building new shelves I guess I’d put it at 8. I do have a bunch of books that I probably won’t keep but I want to read them first…
  6. c), at least before they made holds and checkout self-serve.
  7. Somewhere between c) and d). They keep getting their budget cut so I try to do my part by keeping books overdue. πŸ˜‰
  8. It’s a toss-up between the British Library and the Vatican Library. I wouldn’t object to either.
  9. I would sell film adaptations beside the books they’re based on, or perhaps nowadays a token to stream the film after they’ve read the book.
  10. I usually say something like “I’m working on it.” I think that will always be true. I can’t imagine only having books I’ve already read.
2 comments on “Eleven Questions Meme

  1. Stefanie says:

    Fun! I wonder what your elementary school library would do if you decide to ever return those overdue books πŸ˜‰ I will be sure to answer my questions, perhaps I will post them on Wednesday since midweek my brain tends to be a tad mushy. I love your questions. Shall I answer then here or does this meme go round and round and round? Well, here’s for a long comment:
    1. Mom read but not a huge amount. My sister and I wer both bitten by the bookworm though and were always swapping books.
    2. I don’t remember most of the books I read as a kid but the ones I do remember I have very fond memories of.
    3. First thing? I take them out and caress the covers.
    4. It depends on the book. If it were by a favorite author, yes, I’d pay more. If it were by anyone else, probably not.
    5. I’ll go with 7. I never let books go without a pang but when the shelves are full, weeding is a necessary thing.
    6. Since I am rather self-sufficient at the library and my branch has self-pick up from the hold shelves and self-check out I am rather anonymous in spite of generally being there once a week.
    7. I am very good at returning books to the library though I have been known to keep a book that can’t be renewed for a couple extra days so I can finish it. No doubt I should go to library jail for that.
    8. The New York Public Library
    9. If I owned a bookstore the thing that would make is special would be of course πŸ™‚ Oh and my husand’s vegan pastries for sale at the coffee counter.
    10. Oh, yes, I’ve read every single one of them, twice!
    11. yes please πŸ™‚

    • Sylvia says:

      Good answer for #10! And I think #9 is exactly what bookstores need nowadays to stay in business. πŸ˜‰ I’ll put my answers in the post…

Comments are closed.