Book Sale Haul

I really should not go to book sales, especially good ones. This one was so well-organized that they even had a table for Oprah’s books. I resisted as long as I could but I eventually gave up and just grabbed whatever struck my fancy.

Book sale haul

The highlight of this collection is the pristine Folio Society boxed set of Robert Graves’ “Greek Myths.” Pretty. Also:

  • Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World by Nicholas Ostler
  • 1215: The Year of Magna Carta by Danny Danziger and John Gillingham
  • The Romance of the Rose (new Oxford World’s Classics edition)
  • Fighting in Spain by George Orwell (also new)
  • Middlemarch (older Norton Critical Edition)
  • Living to Tell the Tale by Gabriel García Márquez (autobiography)
  • Tommy Douglas by Thomas H. Mcleod and Ian McLeod (about the father of Canadian health care)
  • The Best of James Herriot
  • I, Rigoberta Menchú: An Indian Woman in Guatemala (autobiography)

Now the problem is where to put them!

12 comments on “Book Sale Haul

  1. Seesaw says:

    What a buy!!!! Great books! Buy new bookshelf!

  2. Yes, I'm glad I tore myself away from soccer to check out the sale!

  3. Greek myths, ooh pretty! Yeah, sometimes it's hard to resist a good sale. I actually avoided going to my favorite bookstore this weekend because I knew that I would end up buying a book or two that I don't really have space for now. But I'm redoing my bookshelves and pruning books I no longer wish to keep so perhaps soon!

  4. Hello Hobbit! Yes, I'm afraid pruning is the only way since houses do not expand automatically when we buy books. I look forward to the invention of anti-gravity so that I can store books along the ceiling. 😉

  5. Stefanie says:

    Nice finds, especially the Graves. That one verges on drool worthy 🙂

  6. Yes, it's a nice set. I gather it is panned by classicists so I will look on it as historical fiction rather than a scholarly work, perhaps in the same category as Atwood's Penelopeiad.

  7. Matt says:

    Seeing the books you bought, I can't blame you if you couldn't help yourself buying them… 🙂 I would love to have that book on Greek myths. I remember, when I was in the 2nd grade, we had a class on Greek mythology & it was the most fun class I ever had when I was in elementary school!

  8. Christopher says:

    I would nearly die for the Graves, The Greek Myths: Complete Edition, and by the Folio Society at that. I do want to let you know that it is altogether not panned by the classicists, and that it is quite rigorously academic. Now whether one chooses to accept Graves' interpretation of the myths, their genesis, etymology, etc. is, of course, up to each individual reader. I believe that it is arguably the best and most encyclopedic reference one can find associated with Greek mythology. I think you'll find that you'll be diving into it time and time again! I should very much love to find a copy of the Folio Society's edition–that is a major, major score! Well done! Cheers! Chris

  9. Matt, I remember studying the Greeks in grade 7. I did a project on togas. 😀

    Christopher, thanks for that. I will enjoy the myths and take Graves' interpretations with a grain of salt. And if you think that's a score, it's nothing compared to my Greek Tragedies!: http://classical-bookworm.blogspot.com/2006/09/my-glorious-boxed-set_7693.html 😉

  10. Shark says:

    Now that's a great book run!

  11. It was indeed. I'm just glad they only have that sale once a year!

  12. […] for my favourite church book sale! I didn’t do as well as I did in 2011 and 2012, but I certainly didn’t come home empty-handed, and I did get a couple of […]

Comments are closed.