Suntory Time!

In my last post I mentioned research that looked into whether languages that sound fast really say more. Japanese was the fastest language they tested, but had the lowest density of information. I think this illustrates the situation:

4 comments on “Suntory Time!

  1. Tom says:

    I remember that scene. Hilarious. Good movie too.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I love it, it's one of my favourites. 🙂

  3. shinbikkuri3 says:

    Can't watch it right now lest I wake my other half, but I have the DVD. Now that my language skills are pretty sharp, I should see if I can follow exactly what gets said and how it gets translated. It was one of the best scenes.

    About language density: I think Japanese can be very information dense; however, that is not the normal usage. Most conversations seem to take place with partial sentences and clauses being prattled on; wherein the other party is constantly guessing the ends of sentences or the parts left out, necessitating constant correction and repetition. Very interactive, but not particularly informative – yet very fun!

  4. Bikkuri, that would be great if you could translate (for real) that scene! That's interesting about the partial sentences in conversational Japanese. Is that considered more informal and familiar, whereas spelling things out would be more formal and distant?

Comments are closed.