Who says you can’t flip through books online?

One of the drawbacks of online book shopping is that you can’t flip through a book to view its contents. That has improved somewhat with things like Amazon’s “Look Inside” feature, but even that is limited depending on how much the publisher is willing to share. The Book Design Studio at the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw has taken things one step further by showing flash movies of someone actually flipping through their books. It’s a clever idea and makes viewing books online a much more human experience. I don’t imagine it could be done on a large scale but it’s a clever idea and fun to watch. Here’s a little snippet to give you an idea of what it looks like:

Book Design Studio, Academy of Fine Arts, Warsaw

See more at www.buszmeni.pl.

6 comments on “Who says you can’t flip through books online?

  1. That is so cool! I couldn't really read any of the words though…but I bet they will soon improve on the technology to make it even more life life.

  2. I meant life like 🙂

  3. Sylvia says:

    Hi Lisa! That's true. I think in this case it's the design of the books they're trying to show, rather than the textual content. It wouldn't be too helpful for books that are just text, but it's a neat idea.

  4. Matt says:

    I hope that one day technology would be able to emulate as close as possible the way we read content online (or in our eReaders) with the way we read real books. I really miss reading real books, having developed an allergy for paper products(among other things). (I have asthma attacks whenever I read real books.):-( In the meantime, I have to be content with reading from my Kindle…

  5. Very cool! I too hope this will help shape developments with eReaders.

  6. Sylvia says:

    Matt, that is very sad about your paper allergy! It's a good thing you have an electronic alternative. I also hope they will keep improving the electronic reading experience.

    LifetimeReader, it would be cool to be able to flip and scan through electronic books quickly, wouldn't it?

Comments are closed.