MMX

What a numerically pleasant year this has been. 2011 just does not have the same aesthetic appeal that 2010 does. Alas, we cannot delay its advent so now is the time to reflect on the year and partake of the annual foolishness of making resolutions for the coming year.

I can’t look back on 2010 without some disappointment at how I let my Mexico and Biodiversity reading challenges languish. I was quite excited about them in the beginning but my eternal foe, Procrastination, sedated the former and euthanized the latter. Mea maxima culpa. But overall it was not a bad year for reading, blogging, and buying books. First, here are some stats:

Blog posts: 111 (including post no. 1000!)

Comments: 481 (so far)

Books read: 47

Fiction: 30
Poetry: 1
Nonfiction: 13
Biography: 3
Audio: 28
Reviews: 7

Favourite books:  The Overflowing Brain, Dombey and Son, Caramelo, 2666, The Pickwick Papers, The Odyssey

Favourite book art: Little Library

Favourite music: Four Hands, Two Hearts, One Guitar

Favourite humour: Rory Gilmore, Bookworm 

Readalongs: Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon, Odyssey Readalong

Best thrift store finds: Franklins (and more Franklins)

This year was definitely dominated by audiobooks, which I found very convenient to “read” before going to sleep at night. This included four works by Dickens and a binge of 10 very enjoyable novels by P.G. Wodehouse. I only read about eight classics in 2010 (depending on what you call a classic), and that is not very satisfactory. My plan to read the classics chronologically was entirely derailed, so my resolution for 2011 it is to get back on track with the classics, as well as Latin. I probably said the same thing last year, but hope springs eternal!

I didn’t buy many books this year but made up for it with a few significant acquisitions, namely the Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary, The Oxford Companion to the Book, The Classical Tradition, and the Dictionnaire culturel en langue française. These are the sorts of books you evacuate in case of flood, fire, or zombie invasion. If you can lift them, that is. Together they weigh over 60 pounds and comprise over 16,000 pages! I am sure these splendid tomes will give me many years of perusing pleasure.

I like big books and I cannot lie

I can’t end this review without mentioning the non-book highlight of the year, which was of course the World Cup in South Africa. It was an exceptional tournament won by an exceptional team, and something that I will never forget. I especially had a blast tweeting with other footy fans during the games (to the dismay of my non-soccer-obsessed followers). If anyone out there is feeling nostalgic about the tournament, I definitely recommend the official 2010 World Cup DVDs available on Amazon. I have several of them and though I am savouring them slowly, what I’ve seen so far is very good. 2011 will also be a great year for soccer thanks to the Women’s World Cup, which starts June 26th in Germany. Mark your calendars!

I hope everyone had a good 2010 and is looking forward to more bookish (and non-bookish) adventures in 2011. Happy New Year!

3 comments on “MMX

  1. Annie says:

    I 'love' you for admitting that you didn't do as well as you would have hoped with your reading last year. Me too!! And like you, hope definitely springs again.

  2. Stefanie says:

    I think you had a very good year of reading even if things did get a bit derailed. The only thing I managed for the biodiversity challenge was the field trip 🙂 Love that tote bag! Here's to lots of good reading in 2011!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Annie, I'm sure we're not the only ones. At least we keep trying!

    Stefanie, the field trip is the best part! 😉 Lots of good reading in 2011 to you too! 🙂

Comments are closed.