Ulysses and the Sirens by John William Waterhouse

This is my (somewhat frightening) desktop background at the moment. Click to see larger version.

John Williams Waterhouse: Ulysses and the Sirens

4 comments on “Ulysses and the Sirens by John William Waterhouse

  1. Stefanie says:

    creepy. But cool.

  2. Sylvia says:

    They are creepy, especially the one perched on the gunwale staring that guy in the face!

  3. Trish says:

    This was the best picture I could find for “Sirens” as well and it is rather frightening! Not at all what I envision the Sirens as being. For some reason I envision them being more like merpeople hanging around on rocks just waiting for sailors to crash.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Trish, I think I've seen images of the Sirens as mermaids too, and animals in the same family as manatees are called sirenians. The giant birds with human heads are sure spooky though.

Comments are closed.