Ready for the Readathon

Dewey's 24 Hour Read-A-ThonAfter spotting some tweets about Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon I’ve decided to give it a try. This is my first readathon, so I’m not really sure what to expect. It starts tomorrow at 5 a.m. my time, but as I have a dysfunctional brain (thanks to CFS), I will take the humane option and just read for as many waking hours as I comfortably can. This is supposed to be fun, after all.

My main goal is to finish, or at least make significant progress in, the audio version of 2666. I am half way through part 29 of 38, which means I have about 10 hours to go. I’m not sure if it’s safe to read (hear) that much Bolaño in one day, but I believe I’m past the dead bodies now and I hope the rest won’t be too horrifying. For breaks I plan to dabble in my spectacular new Dictionnaire culturel en langue française. This may cause gushing blog posts to appear here. If I need to switch to something totally different, I’ve got my long-neglected Don Quixote on standby. Finally, in case of emergency, I have a spot of Wodehouse available to cool off the brain.

Readathon book (& Zune) stack

I’m not sure what the convention is for blog updates during these readathons. Do people write one post and add to it as they go along, or publish new updates on a regular basis? I guess I will find out in the morning. No doubt there will be much tweeting as well. It looks like it could be a lot of fun. Anyone care to join?

4 comments on “Ready for the Readathon

  1. Maree says:

    Some do one post; some do multiple posts – just whatever fits your schedule best. Welcome to readathon, and I hope you have fun! 🙂

  2. softdrink says:

    (Non)traditional Buddhist readathon blessing:

    Just as the books fill the shelves,
    Pile together on the floor and stack up on the table
    So may the joy of the readathon
    Flow forth to brighten your day and lift your spirit.
    Books already read, books in progress and books yet to be read.

    By the power of every word on the page
    May your book be delightful,
    As scary as Lovecraft’s Cthulhu
    Or as sweet as a box of See’s candy.

    Let the power of the images evoked by words
    Keep you stay awake long through the night
    May no obstacle impede
    Your day filled with books.

    For all of those who are reading today
    Who follow in the path of Dewey
    May your day be filled with the four blessings
    Of fabulous books, tasty snacks, comfy chairs and joy.

  3. Susan says:

    Have fun, Sylvia! I'm not participating this year, but I've enjoyed the readathon tremendously all the times I have. I hope you make a lot of progress in your books. 🙂

  4. Sylvia says:

    Thanks Maree! I've settled on doing one post and adding to it as I go along. I hope it doesn't get too goofy later on when my brain is tired!

    What a wonderful blessing, softdrink, thank you so much!

    Susan, thanks, I think it will be enjoyable. How much progress I make remains to be seen!

Comments are closed.