M

1000th post!

Welcome to my 1000th post! After nearly 6 years of puttering around the blogosphere I have reached my first chiliad (thank you HTOED).  When I discovered blogging back in 2004 I knew it was for me, and the web hasn’t come up with anything since that fits me as well. My blog is my profile, my portfolio, my home online, my base station in cyberspace. I’ve never wavered on the subject matter either. I’ve always loved reading and learning, but since becoming sick with ME/CFS books have become a sort of vocation for me. With my career on indefinite hold, books give me something meaningful to do that is within my physical capabilities, and blogging is an integral part of that. Reading alone and keeping my thoughts to myself just wouldn’t be as much fun. Blogging not only helps me organize my thoughts about the books I read but it puts me in contact with all you wonderful bibliophiles. This blog would be a pretty dull place without your added wit and Amazon gift cardwisdom, so to thank my readers and commenters I’m giving away an Amazon gift card! Just leave a comment here and I’ll put your name the magic sorting toque (I am Canadian, after all). Good luck and keep reading!

10 comments on “M

  1. SFP says:

    Congratulations, Sylvia! We got started about the same time, didn't we? Sometimes I crave an extended hiatus, but even when I want to quit writing for awhile, I never tire of reading what you and a few others have to say. That keeps me going.

    Here's to your next 1000!

  2. AndrewL says:

    Congratulations, Sylvia. May you have another 1000!
    Yours was the first blog I ever came across, now I have 100 or so that I follow, mostly all about reading/literature, and mostly all linked from yours (via direct links or links from those links).
    Please think of doing some more of those “which publication is nicest for a specific novel” posts – you've got some great ones in that vein.

  3. Kcecelia says:

    Congratulations, Sylvia, on your 1000th post! You are an amazing person: smart, funny, clever, erudite. I enjoy reading your tweets and your blog. To the next 1000. xo.

  4. Seesaw says:

    Congratulations S! Enjoy reading your blog. And your tweets! Viva Barca!

  5. Stefanie says:

    Happy chiliad! (Glad to see you are putting that gorgeous thesaurus to good use!) I love your little corner of the blogosphere so I hope there are many more thousands of posts left for you write. As long as you don't run out of books to read that should be pretty easy, yes? 🙂

  6. Sylvia says:

    Sandra, I think you are right, and yours was one of the first blogs I read, along with Stefanie's, so thank you for the inspiration!

    Andrew, thanks for the suggestion, I will keep it in mind.

    Kcecelia you are too kind! xo right back at ya!

    Seewaw, hvala and go Reds!

    Stefanie, indeed there's not much danger of running out of material! Thank you for being such a great blogging role model!

  7. Congratulations, Sylvia! I'm glad you're out there blogging!

  8. shinbikkuri3 says:

    Congratulations! For some reason, I expected you were well beyond that. Must be the high quality!

  9. Tom says:

    1,000 posts?! That's amazing! Well done and congratulations! Right now, I have only 957 more posts to go. It will take me a lot longer though, I'm sure. This is one of very few blogs I consistently visit. Thanks Sylvia, and please keep it up.

  10. Sylvia says:

    Thanks Dorothy and Bikkuri!

    You too, Tom. Long live the Rolltop Manifesto!

Comments are closed.