More Franklins

I swung by my favourite thrift store today and much to my surprise found some more Franklin Library books. I thought I had cleaned them out last time but perhaps they had more in storage. This time I got some Greek Tragedies (which I already have but it’s such a pretty book!), Augustine’s Confessions, Montaigne’s essays, Great Expectations (illustrated), The Magic Mountain, and A Farewell to Arms (illustrated). The Hemmingway is the only one that has been read. It looks like it was only partly read but also abused because the binding is racked. I suspect a high school student (it was part of the curriculum when I went through). It still looks good though.

Pretty books

Alas, I didn’t get all the Franklins they had there. I saw a lady walking around with two of them, The Mill on the Floss and The Decameron. I tried to do a trade with her but she was having none of it. I even told her The Mill on the Floss was very sad and she wouldn’t like it but she just laughed and thought I was very funny. Harrumph. Still I can’t complain considering what I got, and for only $1 each this time. I really must shop there more often!

4 comments on “More Franklins

  1. AndrewL says:

    Wow, you scored again!!! You have to tell me which store it is so I can swing by 😉

  2. Stefanie says:

    Wow, you are good Sylvia. And you cracked me up that you actually told the lady with Mill on the Floss that it was sad and she wouldn't like it!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Andrew, only if you promise not to tell! 😉

    Stefanie, I was desperate! 😀

  4. Seesaw says:

    Lucky you! Beautiful books, great buy!

Comments are closed.