Latest Thrift Store Haul

I had tremendous luck at the thrift store today. I came home with a box full Franklin Library books, plus a nice edition of Dante.

Franklin Library books

Other than a little dust, the Franklin Library books were in mint condition, with the pages still stuck together by the gilding. I got Aristotle’s Rhetoric and On Poetics, The Canterbury Tales, the poems of John Donne, Crime and Punishment, Faust, the plays of Henrik Ibsen, selected lives of Plutarch, and selected plays of Shakespeare. For them I paid a royal sum of $3 each.

Dante: Hell and Paradise

The Dante is published by Washington Square Press and is not quite as fine as the Franklin books but the paper and printing are very good and the volumes feature some very interesting modern illustrations. The text is presented in Italian and blank verse English translation by Louis Biancolli.

Dante illustration

These books were only $1 each. Alas Purgatorio was missing. Perhaps it is appropriate that I must wait to get my hands on a copy…

8 comments on “Latest Thrift Store Haul

  1. SFP says:

    What a great price on the Franklins! The used bookstore here charges $20 a volume.

  2. Jeremy says:

    Wow. And wow.

  3. Sylvia says:

    SFP, that's the beauty of thrift stores. Everything is priced to be accessible to all.

    Jeremy, that's what I said when I spotted them. I often find great things at that store, but this topped them all for sure.

  4. luis says:

    En España hace pocos años se editó la Divina Comedia en 3 tomos con dibujos de Miquel Barceló. Algunos de los dibujos son de gran belleza. http://www.artespain.com/miquel-barcelo/divinacomedia.htm

    Spectrumgomas

  5. Sylvia says:

    ¡Muchas gracias, Luis! Esos dibujos parecen muy interesantes.

  6. AndrewL says:

    Beautiful haul. I collect the “100 Greatest…” series of the Franklins.

  7. Stefanie says:

    What great finds! I'll bet those Franklins look gorgeous on your bookshelves! Such pretty bindings!

  8. Sylvia says:

    Andrew, if you're missing any of these let me know, perhaps we can come to some arrangement. 😉

    Stefanie, they are indeed pretty and definitely spruce up my literature shelves which are heavy with old cracked paperbacks.

Comments are closed.