It Begins

Unless you are living under a rock with no wifi, you probably know that the World Cup started today. And if you know me, you know I’ll be glued to the TV for the next month, as will a large proportion of the human population. Global productivity will undoubtedly take a dive (ahem), but global happiness will definitely go up. After what’s been going on lately, I think we need this.

The opening ceremony was great. The beautiful diversity of African culture was on display. I love that the centrepiece (and model for the stadium itself) was a traditional cooking pot.

World Cup 2010 Opening Ceremony

As a biologist, I was also tickled by this:

Jabulani beetle, World Cup 2010

African textiles were on display and used to create this spectacular giant map of Africa:

World Cup 2010 Opening Ceremony

For those who haven’t been bitten by the soccer bug (or beetle, in this case), here are a couple of videos that will give you a sense of the excitement, passion, humour, diversity, and pure joy of the beautiful game.

5 comments on “It Begins

  1. Jodie says:

    Love that bettle, very Lion King set design. I don't get the Nike ad though. Everyone seems to think it is very clever, but all I can focus on is that Collosus of Rhodes type statue of Ronaldo which makes me roll my eyes. Maybe I am just biased because there is no Lampard in there.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Heh. I believe they're poking fun at Ronaldo's supposedly gigantic ego. I find the whole ad hilarious, and it just shows how crazy (and slightly delusional) both fans and players are about the sport. 😀

  3. Stefanie says:

    Heh, hope you are enjoying the games. See you in a month when you resurface 😉

  4. Seesaw says:

    Some beautiful photos here. And now let us watch Cameroon v Denmark.

  5. Sylvia says:

    Stefanie, I am indeed enjoying the games! Regularly scheduled programing will resume July 12th… 😉

    Zdenka, and Slovakia v Paraguay and Italy v New Zealand and Brazil v Côte d'Ivoire and…. 🙂

Comments are closed.