Thrift Store Haul

I went to the thrift store today to get rid of stuff, and ended up bringing home ten pounds of new (to me) books.
The Creative Impulse: An Introduction to the Arts (6th Edition) by Dennis J. Sporre

The Creative Impulse: An Introduction to the Arts

“…an overview of the visual arts, architecture, literature, music, theatre, dance, and film of the Western tradition in the context of the philosophy, religion, aesthetic theory, economics, science, and politics that surrounded them.”

I just saw a documentary on the cover painting, The Art of Painting by Vermeer, so I had to get this book. That’s logical, right? I like the integrated approach and it should be a fun read.
Book of British Villages by AA

Book of British Villages

A sort of encyclopedia of villages with pictures and information about the history and ways of life there. I’m a sucker for anything to do with the English countryside.
Reader's Digest North American Wildlife by Editors of Readers Digest

Reader’s Digest North American Wildlife

I love this because it contains everything—ecosystems, plants, fungi, mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, molluscs, insects, etc. Every kid should be given one so they can get to know their neighbours.

4 comments on “Thrift Store Haul

  1. Ah yes, new books. On our last move we brought several bags of books to the local used book store and were given fifty dollars store credit, which we had to use immediately because of the move. The glee, that was a nice day.
    I'm on a diet, no new books till I finish the ones I have, except the thyroid books of course.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I should be on a book diet because I have nowhere to put new books! I do have plans to expand my shelving but I have to attend to the garden first. So the books pile up patiently…

  3. Stefanie says:

    Nice new books! The Creative Impulse looks especially interesting. You must share good bits as you make your way through it 🙂

  4. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, I'm quite pleased with my haul, especially the one you mentioned. Stay tuned for good bits. 🙂

What do you think?

