The Mill on the Floss: How to Keep Your Head Cool an’ Empty

“You seem to be a knowing fellow,” said Mr. Glegg, at last.

“Ay, sir, you say true,” returned Bob, nodding his head aside; “I think my head’s all alive inside like an old cheese, for I’m so full o’ plans, one knocks another over. If I hadn’t Mumps to talk to, I should get top-heavy an’ tumble in a fit. I suppose it’s because I niver went to school much. That’s what I jaw my old mother for. I says, ‘You should ha’ sent me to school a bit more,’ I says, ‘an’ then I could ha’ read i’ the books like fun, an’ kep’ my head cool an’ empty.’…”

The Mill on the Floss, George Eliot

4 comments on “The Mill on the Floss: How to Keep Your Head Cool an’ Empty

  1. Stefanie says:

    “my head's all alive inside like an old cheese”

    This doesn't seem like it would be a pleasant sensation and it could be rather smelly too. Good thing I can read books and keep my head cool and empty! 🙂

  2. Sylvia says:

    Or at least free of mold. 😉

  3. Poncho says:

    I'm loving this quotes you're posting.

    BTW. I left you a few noms for some memes, I mean, awards on my blog (both the Kreativ Blogger Award and the Lesa's “Creative Writer” Award. Congrats.

  4. Sylvia says:

    ¡Muchas gracia, Poncho!

Comments are closed.