The Mill on the Floss: Forget Latin

“…Your poor father went the wrong way to work in giving you an education. It wasn’t my business, and I didn’t interfere; but it is as I thought it would be. You’ve had a sort of learning that’s all very well for a young fellow like our Mr. Stephen Guest, who’ll have nothing to do but sign checks all his life, and may as well have Latin inside his head as any other sort of stuffing.”

“But, uncle,” said Tom, earnestly, “I don’t see why the Latin need hinder me from getting on in business. I shall soon forget it all; it makes no difference to me….”

The Mill on the Floss, George Eliot

4 comments on “The Mill on the Floss: Forget Latin

  1. Stefanie says:

    Speaking of Latin, how are your own Latin studies going?

  2. Sylvia says:

    Oh, I'm trudging along like a reluctant schoolboy… 😉

  3. araby says:

    I have never regretted taking Latin (in high school, when it was still taught in public schools, and a few college courses)! It was good prep for English lit, which involved less trudging and more stuffing.

  4. Sylvia says:

    I wish I remembered more of my high school Latin. I recall translating some Caesar, but I have no idea what it was.

Comments are closed.