Library building, Dutch style

Sanja Medic: De Batavier (De Boekenkast)

Sanja Medic: De Batavier (De Boekenkast), 2006, Amsterdam.

This is not a mural, those are ceramic books on brick shelves in the side of the building. The spines bear the names of Dutch writers and poets after whom many of the surroundings streets are named. See more at the artist’s website: Sanja Medic.

via Bookshelf

9 comments on “Library building, Dutch style

  1. Stefanie says:

    That is one amazing piece of art!

  2. verbivore says:

    This is beautiful, if I had the money I'd do this to my house…but use real books and so it would also solve that tricky 'book storage' problem I've had all these years. Bookshelves on the outside of the house, covered in glass with a tall ladder – that would be fantastic.

  3. Jodie says:

    Wow that's lovely. Other countries seem so much more interested in the decoration of their buildings that the UK.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Stefanie, yes it is. I just hope they don't get earthquakes there!

    Interesting idea, verbivore. I'd be happy with one whole wall of built-in shelves indoors! I don't know why that isn't a requirement of the building code…

    Jodie, there isn't much decoration where I live either, though I did once work in a building with a beautiful mural painted by one of our staff. I think these things come down to individual initiative.

  5. Rebecca Reid says:

    that is so cool looking!

  6. shinbikkuri3 says:

    How fun is that? I hope the books are secured (although they probably don't get many quakes.)

  7. Sylvia says:

    No, but they might have giants looking for something to read… 😉

  8. Seesaw says:

    Simply beautiful!

  9. […] via classicalbookworm.wordpress.com and […]

Comments are closed.