Something is Stirring in the Literary Graveyard…

Just as Homer and Dante and Shakespeare and the lot were getting pretty peaceful in their final resting places, Rebecca of Rebecca Reads is trying to teleport them into the blogosphere. She started with a guest post at the Book Bloggers Appreciation Week site, in which she encouraged book bloggers to read and review the classics. There is some excellent advice in that post, such as blogging about long works in sections, and just using your own style to blog about the classics. But she has really stirred things up with her proposed “Dead Authors Blog Tour.”

I’m not entirely sure what a blog tour is, but I gather it’s something like the web rings of yore, and in this case would involve linking blog posts related to a specific classic book, or perhaps a group of related works or themes in classic literature. It’s all pretty much up in the air right now, including the title. I’ve proposed it be called the “Undead Authors Blog Tour”–classic authors may have shuffled off their mortal coils long ago but they are living among us still!

Do check out Rebecca Reads and join the lively discussion. If nothing else it will convince you that the classics are by no means dead.

4 comments on “Something is Stirring in the Literary Graveyard…

  1. Jodie says:

    I love the idea of a classics tour – might help me get up and pick up a few more classics!

  2. Sylvia says:

    That's great, Jodie!

  3. I read Rebecca's post too and thought she is on to a good idea. I look forward to seeing what she comes up with.

    Glad I found your blog. I’m working my way through Wuthering Expectations’ blogroll, looking for book bloggers with similar tastes to mine. Looks like I found one.

  4. Sylvia says:

    That sounds like a good blogroll to go through; I should try that. I'm glad you found something you like here. Thanks for the comment!

Comments are closed.