Oxford World’s Classics Audio Guides

Oxford World's Classics Audio GuidesI stumbled across a nifty new feature at the Oxford World’s Classics website. They are building up a collection of short audio guides by the editors of their new critical editions. I listened to the audio guide for Pride and Prejudice and found it quite rewarding. The collection is small now but is supposed to grow. Alas they don’t offer a feed but you can sign up for monthly email updates. Happy listening!

4 comments on “Oxford World’s Classics Audio Guides

  1. Danielle says:

    This sounds cool. I take it you just have to listen on your computer and not load them onto a portable player? Still, I'm going to check out their list! I love extra information when i'm reading the classics.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Actually they are just simple mp3 links, so you can save them to your portable media player. 🙂

  3. Jenni says:

    These are wonderful! I'm going to pass them on to the students in my Rediscovering the Classics class. Voltaire and Wilde are two of the authors on our reading list this year. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Sylvia says:

    I'm glad they'll be useful. Your class sounds fantastic—a great range of works. Thanks for the comment!

Comments are closed.