Measure of Time by Larry Brady

Measure of Time by Larry Brady

Larry Brady, Measure of Time. Watercolor, acrylic, gold leaf, blind stamping, veneer pens on 300lb Fabriano watercolor paper. 28.75 x 14.5 in. Text: Augustine, Confessions. Commissioned by Concordia University, Irvine, California.

This is by far my favourite piece from the 2008 juried exhibition issue of Letter Arts Review. Very appropriate for the International Year of Astronomy, no? I love it because it is so beautiful, it appeals to the scientist in me, and it uses a text from a great Catholic saint. But I also love it because it is legible. I’m afraid that many if not most of the works in Letter Arts Review have moved away from the function of letters, i.e. communication, and focus almost exclusively on their form. Of course anything goes in art, and many of the more abstract pieces are beautiful and interesting, but I want to see beautiful texts not just beautiful letter-forms. It seems odd to me to look at a piece of “writing” and be forced to consult the description to find out what it says. I won’t be renewing my subscription but I am glad to have encountered this work. I’ll have to look elsewhere for more of its kind.

2 comments on “Measure of Time by Larry Brady

  1. Stefanie says:

    Oh, that's beautiful!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Isn't it? I wish there was some way to get a print, but then I probably couldn't afford it! It's really spectacular.

Comments are closed.