Life According to Literature Meme

via Pages Turned

Using only books you have read this year (2009), cleverly answer these questions. Try not to repeat a book title. It’s a lot harder than you think!

[I cheated and included books I haven’t finished yet.]

Describe yourself: Lying Awake

How do you feel: Acedia & me

Describe where you currently live: The Pacific Northwest Landscape

If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Historic Houses of Britain

Your favourite form of transportation: Choppers

Your best friend is: Anne of the Island

You and your friends are: Infidel(s)

What’s the weather like: Galaxies

Favourite time of day: Called Out of Darkness

What is life to you: Decoding the Heavens

Your fear: Hard Times

What is the best advice you have to give: The Life You Save May Be Your Own

Thought for the day: Canada Rocks!

How you would like to die: Reading the OED

My soul’s present condition: Great Expectations

9 comments on “Life According to Literature Meme

  1. AndrewL says:

    Describe Yourself: The Box Man (almost went for Genius by Bloom here :P)
    How do you feel: Self
    Describe where you currently live: Snow Country (in the imaginings of friends from the UK, at least)
    If you could go anywhere: Into the Wild
    Fave transportation: Footprints in the snow
    Best friend: Black Man
    You and your friends are: Used and Rare
    What's the weather like: A Moveable Feast
    Fave time of day: Of Fire and Night (or maybe The Sun also Rises)
    What is life to you: The Empty Mirror
    You fear: Lost Paradise
    Best advice: The Best of Inquiring Mind
    Thought for the day: A Parliament for Women
    How you would like to die: The Old Man and the Sea
    My soul's present condition: Peace is every step

    That was fun. Easy when you've read 100 books already this year 😛

  2. Sylvia says:

    Very good! Love “Used and Rare.” I would have gone with “Genius.” 😉 100 books! I'm guessing you don't have a TV (my downfall).

  3. AndrewL says:

    While I don't have a TV, I do watch a lot. I guess I don't have a life, which allows for lots of reading. I DO read on the bus, at lunch, and in the evening for an hour or so too :P.

    Of course, my Thought for the Day should be A Parliament OF Women, the Aristophanes play. Rather more rude than I was expecting from an ancient greek playwright. I'd read Sophocles and Euripides beforehand so this was a bit of a shock for my senstivie constitution.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Sounds like you're a very efficient reader. I have a tendency to dawdle and consider the cosmic implications of every sentence.

    Soooo you haven't read Lysistrata yet? Better save it for when you're feeling particularly secure in your manhood…

  5. AndrewL says:

    Oh, I've read Lysistrata. The book was a collection of Aristophanes' 'greats'.
    SHOCKED I tell you!

  6. Sylvia says:

    😀 And people think Sex and the City is shocking!

  7. SFP says:

    Those are cool, Sylvia. I love this meme. I think we ought to do it in December every year. 🙂

  8. Stefanie says:

    Excellent answers! I am going to have to do this one too after I finish my term paper and can think of fun things again 🙂

  9. Sylvia says:

    Good idea, Susan. I'm in!

    Thanks, Stefanie. I look forward to your answers!

Comments are closed.