Housekeeping: Links Astray and Stroppy Comment Boxes

A blogger's work is never done Moving a blog is not unlike moving house: some things inevitably get broken or go missing. In the case of this blog it appears that some links have gone astray so I am now in the process of going through and checking them all. I’m also updating all 294 internal links so you won’t be sent back to my glacially slow old blog on Typepad (reason #27 why I left).

If you’ve had trouble leaving a comment here, give it another try as I’ve changed my settings to broaden the commenting options. And if you see anything else amiss, do feel free to leave a comment or send an email and let me know. Thanks!

UPDATE: I tidied up the template and that is supposed to solve commenting problems. The template I’m using predates embedded comments so it probably didn’t have the right code for that section. Fingers crossed…

21 comments on “Housekeeping: Links Astray and Stroppy Comment Boxes

  1. Seesaw says:

    “Tyger Tyger, burning bright,
    In the forests of the night;
    What immortal hand or eye,
    Could frame thy fearful symmetry…”

    This is of course from the fixed link eBooks@Adelaide. I like the format they use. And I like Blake. And I liked this poem as a student very much! Thanks.

  2. Sylvia says:

    “And what shoulder, & what art.
    Could twist the sinews of thy heart?
    And when thy heart began to beat,
    What dread hand! & what dread feet!”

    You're welcome. Their layout is nice and simple and easy on the eyes. I often look things up there rather than Project Gutenberg because of it.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I posted the one above… tried as a Name/URL. It told me it was unable to post.
    AndrewL

  4. Anonymous says:

    Testing, testing, 1, 2, 3
    Can't stay long, I need a pee!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Continuing the poetical trend, eh? 😉 I will have to investigate and see what is wrong with the commenting.

  6. Sylvia says:

    I posted that last comment using Name/URL and it worked. Hmmm… Did you include the http://? Or perhaps you were trying to use an email address instead? I don't think that's possible. You can use the Anonymous option and include your name (as you did), or create a Google account (or an account somewhere that participates in OpenID) and use that for commenting. I suppose Blogger does it this way so people can keep their email addresses private if they choose. Sorry for the trouble!

    (P.S. If you do sign up with Google you can have any Gmail email forwarded to your home address so you don't have to go check it.)

  7. Anonymous says:

    I didn't enter a URL (never have before and not had a problem), so I guess they've changed the fields from optional to mandatory. Oh well.
    AndrewL

    edit: request could not be processed when trying the text above the edit when Anonymous too 😦

  8. Sylvia says:

    OK, I'll look into it. Could be the template—I had to tweak it to allow comments below the post and I may have mistweaked. I'll post an update if I find something. Thanks for trying. 🙂

  9. Sylvia says:

    Anonymous worked. This is Name only.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Test

  11. Sylvia says:

    Andrew, I tried Anonymous and Name only and they both worked first try. I can't imagine what the trouble is, but I'll keep looking into it.

  12. AndrewL says:

    I appreciate it.

  13. AndrewL says:

    10:18 worked first time.

  14. AndrewL says:

    So, if I try Name/URL (w no URL) or Anonymous I get an error, but I can then clikc again on Post Comment and it works fine.
    Using Windows 7 Ultimate, IE8.

  15. Stefanie says:

    Thanks for adding the name/url choice. I don't usually sign into Google to browse the internet so you have saved me a step before leaving you comments 🙂

  16. Sylvia says:

    Andrew, if there's something I've learned about Blogger is that if something doesn't work the first time, trying it again usually works. How are you liking Windows 7?

    Stefanie, we aim to please here at Classical Bookworm! 😉

  17. AndrewL says:

    Windows 7 is what Vista should've been imo.
    I work in the IT field, and had nothing but problems with that OS. I've currently got it nicely set up – prettier than XP for sure, with a couple of shell/IE bugs. Pretty good for an RC.

  18. Sylvia says:

    RC? (she googles… ) Ah, release candidate. I need a new computer soon and was going to wait until the first service pack but I might just go for it when it comes out. Sounds like they got this one right and I can finally retire XP.

  19. Sandra says:

    Attempt number 24 (or so) to comment, but this time I've changed from Firefox to Safari.

  20. Sandra says:

    EUREKA!!! It's Firefox. Errrrr.. Anyone have any idea why I couldn't get a comment to post from Firefox on a Mac?

    Comment of substance: I do like this blog.

  21. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Sandra! I'm glad you finally got through. I'm surprised Firefox was the problem, but perhaps it was an add-on, or the combination of Firefox and Mac. Here's hoping it sorts itself out in the next update.

Comments are closed.