Happy World Book and Copyright Day 2009!

World Book and Copyright Day 2009

I have the feeling that world events have preoccupied the good people at UNESCO because there isn’t much to see at their World Book & Copyright Day website this year. Nevertheless, public events are being held, including another continuous reading of Don Quixote in Spain, where World Book Day started. You can follow the reading on Cervantes TV (yes, Miguel de Cervantes has his own web TV channel!). I think I’ll be celebrating by dusting off my copy of Don Quixote and seeing if I can pick up where I left off. It’s a good thing I was taking notes or I’d have to start over!

7 comments on “Happy World Book and Copyright Day 2009!

  1. Milan says:

    The two goals do seem a bit at odds with one another. While copyright may be an important way of rewarding authors, it also keeps books away from those who might otherwise read them.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I think part of the goal of World Book and Copyright Day is to promote writing and publishing as viable career options in developing as well as developed countries. Without copyright that can't happen. If writers and publishers can't make a living they can't write and publish and then what will we read? Between libraries, used books, and public domain books online there is no shortage of cheap or free reading material available to large numbers of people. Where there are no libraries they probably can't afford to buy bootleg books anyway, so I don't think copyright robs anyone of access to books. If anything it guarantees it.

  3. J.S. Peyton says:

    Aw, phooey! Yesterday would have been a good chance for me to dust off my own copy of “Don Quixote.” It would have been fun to read along with the readers on CervantesTV. Oh well. Must make myself a mental note for next year…

  4. Stefanie says:

    Happy belated World Book Day. And Happy Arbor Day today! 🙂

  5. Sylvia says:

    Don't forget, J.S., same time same place same book!
    Happy Arbor day to you too, Stefanie! Considering our books are printed on tree cellulose it's appropriate that the two holidays run together. 🙂

  6. Milan says:

    “I don't think copyright robs anyone of access to books. If anything it guarantees it.”
    I would agree if they expired when an author died (or sooner), but I think the present copyright system benefits publishing houses primarily, while harming readers and many authors.

  7. Sylvia says:

    I must admit I don't quite get why copyright should extend past the artist's lifetime. It's like a pension plan for publishers but they haven't retired.

Comments are closed.