Movie Monday

Alas there hasn’t been much notable movie watching lately at the Classical Bookworm home theatre (to use the term extremely loosely). A couple of weeks ago I did see a very good film about Polish pianist Wladislaw Szpilman. The Pianist is set in Warsaw around the time of World War II and chronicles his familys experiences as Jews under Nazi rule and his struggle to survive during the occupation, bombing, and levelling of Warsaw. It is not an adventure story nor a sentimental hero’s tale; it is an extremely well-played character study and real human story. It’s a beautifully made film.

Did anyone else watch the new “Masterpiece Classic” version of Wuthering Heights? I confess that I still have not read the book, though I have the general idea. I can’t say whether the production was true to the book, but I thought Tom Hardy (any relation?) did a fantastic job of playing Heathcliff as a man beaten down by life and slave to an powerful and eternal passion for Cathy Earnshaw. He looked the part, and the slightest flicker of his eyes spoke volumes. I must see what else he has done because he is an extraordinary actor. You could see the tenderness underneath the violence. His primal scream when he learned of Cathy’s death was astounding. I’ve never seen anything like it. It’s worth watching just to see that.

So, seen any good movies lately?

6 comments on “Movie Monday

  1. wil says:

    Adrien Brody is great in The Pianist.
    My wife and I recently saw Mongol. It's part one of a Genghis Khan trilogy. Very well done.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Interesting. I don't think I've seen any Kazakh movies before. It's on the list. πŸ™‚

  3. Stefanie says:

    No good movies lately at my house. I haven't had time with school in session. I did watch a movie last weekend to decompress but I don't think Be Kind Rewind with Jack Black is what you had in mind πŸ˜‰

  4. Sylvia says:

    Heh. I might wait for that one to show up on TV. πŸ˜‰

  5. CKH says:

    I have read the book, and seen the old Oberon/Olivier movie, and now the latest BCC treatment. The BCC writers did a better job of including the multigenerational aspect–which the 1939 film completely leaves out, but the BCC writers also did something very weird to the original “frame” story in which Nellie is speaking to a stranger who has come to the Heights. Narratively, it's really Nellie's story all the way…in the BCC production you only get hints of that. Do read the book–and read it along with the original Mary Shelley Frankenstein while you're at it. Two well-suited “monster tales.”

  6. Sylvia says:

    Thanks for that, CKH. I was wondering if the second generation story was original to the book. I will definitely be reading both of those books!

Comments are closed.