Movie Monday

I have a suspicion that people who love good books also tend to love good movies, so I thought it might be fun to start talking about the stories we watch. I know some of you subscribe to Netflix (in Canada it’s Zip), but movies don’t seem to appear on book blogs very often. Perhaps you all have secret movie blogs on the side…?

It may not surprise you to hear that my movie tastes tend towards the obscure. It’s not often that I watch a film without subtitles, or at least an accent. Whatever puts most people to sleep will probably fascinate me. The last movie I went to a theatre to see was a nearly 3-hour, nearly silent documentary about a monastery in France. The parts that weren’t silent had subtitles, of course. I loved every minute of it.

This weekend I saw a delightful low-budget film from Germany, Enlightenment Guaranteed. It’s about two brothers having mid-life crises who run off to a Zen monastery in Japan and, well, find enlightenment. It’s shot in video, not film, but if you can ignore that it’s really a very fun and zen-like movie. I can’t remember who recommended it, but if it was you, thanks!

I was also recently blown away by Heaven, with Giovanni Ribisi and Cate Blanchett. It was the last film co-written by the late Krzysztof Kieslowsi, of Trois Couleurs fame, a favourite director of mine. It's a gripping story of unexpected love, tragedy, and loyalty. It is visually arresting alsoβ€”I think it does Kieslowski justice.

So, seen any good movies lately? My Zip list is full to overflowing but I’m always interested in hearing about other good films.

8 comments on “Movie Monday

  1. Rebecca says:

    I am a bibliophile who also loves movies, like you suggest probably many of us do. I subscribe to Netflix. I know you can have friends on there, but I dont know if it will allow Zip friends or not. I dont know how that works. I have an eclectic taste in movies, just like in music. I like documentaries as well. I just watched The Giant Buddhas about the giant Buddhas from Afghanistan that the Taliban destroyed and about their history. It was a bit choppy, though. It could have flowed better. But I will keep you in mind for future recommendations! πŸ˜€

  2. Sylvia says:

    Zip does have friending too but it doesn't cut across systems. They don't have that documentary on the Giant Buddhas. It's a good thing that story is being told. I look forward to your future recommendations!

  3. AndrewL says:

    Thanks for the recommendations. I loved Trois Couleurs (esp Blue), and have a soft spot for buddhism/zen movies as well as docus (Attenborough is a god, and I'm not just saying that because I'm an English ex-pat).
    I'll certainly be looking them up, esp that monk one.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Attenborough is definitely a force of nature! I liked Bleu too but Rouge was my favourite. Juliette Binoche and Irène Jacob were both great.

  5. Stefanie says:

    I'm not much of a movie watcher but when I do watch a movie it had better be pretty good or I feel like I've wasted my time. One I watched not long ago and really liked is “Once.” I guess you could call it a musical. It is about a guy who plays guitar on the street for money and he meets a girl who plays piano and it doesn't end how you expect it to end. What I liked about it is how it was quirky but also realistic in–or what I imagine realistic to be–in how music gets composed.

  6. Sylvia says:

    Yes, I hate that “there's two hours of my life I won't get back” feeling! “Once” sounds interesting, I'll have to check it out. Thanks. πŸ™‚

  7. wil says:

    I enjoyed Heaven as well. I'm a big fan of the director, Tom Tykwer. Have you seen The Princess & the Warrior or Run, Lola, Run?

  8. Sylvia says:

    Funny you should mention that. I've seen Run Lola Run and the other day was wondering what else that director had done. I'll check it out!

Comments are closed.