The Sky in Motion

Get inspired for the Astronomy Reading Challenge with this breathtakingly beautiful video of our ever-changing sky by Till Credner. I highly recommend watching it in HD (click here) and full screen (bottom right button). Enjoy!

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1250929&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=00adef&fullscreen=1

via Astronomy Picture of the Day

7 comments on “The Sky in Motion

  1. Max Weismann says:

    We are a not-for-profit educational organization, founded by Mortimer Adler.
    We have recently made an exciting discovery–three years after writing the wonderfully expanded third edition of How to Read a Book, Mortimer Adler and Charles Van Doren made a series of thirteen 14-minute videos on the art of reading. The videos were produced by Encyclopaedia Britannica. For reasons unknown, sometime after their original publication, these videos were lost and are now available.
    For those of you who teach, this is great for the classroom.
    I cannot over exaggerate how instructive these programs are–we are so sure that you will agree, if you are not completely satisfied, we will refund your donation.
    Please go here to see a clip and learn more:
    http://www.thegreatideas.org/HowToReadABook.htm

  2. Bikkuri says:

    Just wanted to say: Happy New Year!
    The snow is almost completely gone in Seattle. I hope you are doing alright up there.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Happy New Year! Would you believe we got more snow last night? Only an inch, though. We have had very little melting up here, so any snow that wasn't shovelled is still where it fell. There are great snowdrifts on all the roadsides and they are going nowhere. I know this because I managed to plow my way out of the driveway yesterday. I used chains but it still took quite a lot of wheel-spinning and backing and forthing. The snow is now hard and crusty so there were quite a lot of crunching noises coming from under my car, but I just had to get out!

  4. Tom says:

    Hi Syliva,
    I'm envious of your site and am considering blogging. I see you use typepad. Can you tell me why as opposed to other services?
    Thanks!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Hi Tom! Good question. I started out by forming an idea of how I wanted to blog, which I got from looking at a whole lot of different blogs and seeing what I liked. Then I looked at the features of the different services to find the one that suited my needs. Things have changed somewhat since then but Typepad is still my platform of choice. It has advantages over the other options in a number of areas: it's reliable (little down time), the support is very responsive, commenting is easy (I absolutely loathe Blogger's commenting system), the spam filter is top notch, it allows javascript (unlike WordPress.com), and it has automated components that work really well but also gives you a lot of freedom if you want it. There are infinite design options (especially at the higher levels), and you can have multiple blogs and photo albums with separate templates. It is missing some things that other platforms have, like a built-in search function (it's in the works) or auto pingbacks, but overall it has the best combination of features for me.
    They recently upgraded the system and though it has some cool new features (like that top menu I just added) it also has a number of little bugs that, frankly, are driving me crazy. They're not fatal but they are annoying. I'm sure they'll work it out eventually. It worked flawlessly before.
    Some people balk at paying for a blog when there are free blogging platforms available, but I can't do without Typepad's advanced features, and my Amazon links pay for most of it anyway. Even at full price it would be worth it for me.
    The best thing is to look around and see what different blogs do and decide which features you want and choose that way. Typepad can do just about anything, but if you don't need all the bells and whistles then one of the other services might work.
    Feel free to email if you want to go into more detail. πŸ™‚

  6. Tom says:

    Sylvia,
    Thanks for the feedback. I take a look a Typepad and others. You do great job on your site. I really enjoy it.

  7. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Tom. I hope you'll enjoy blogging as much as I do!

Comments are closed.