2008: To be continued . . .

Where does the time go? The year is almost over but what an interesting year it has been! In the first six months I discovered chess, endured a library lockout, subbed in as pack leader for two months, and watched every exciting minute of Euro 2008. Then I moved my blog (ouch!), bought a netbook (which I’m using now), upgraded to Office 2007 (thanks A!), discovered the joy of review copies (thanks Danielle!), and helped elect a Hawaiian as leader of the free world. I also learned that I am classical Latin grammar, and possibly became the inventor of the first Latin LOLcat (or felis clare ridendis).

However, my reading, which is sort of the point of this blog, was a disaster. I thought 2007 was bad but 2008 was truly pathetic. I-can-see-Russia-from-my-house pathetic. So my reading resolution for 2009 is simple: I will finish what I started. All those books (including the geology ones) that have languished in my left sidebar all year will be my targets for 2009. And you, dear blogfriends, can help me, and help a lot of other readers besides.

Jodie at Book Gazing has started a really great reading challenge for 2009. It is called The Year of Readers and the idea is to sponsor a blogger’s reading by making donations to their favourite literacy charities. I’ve signed up and I’ll be reading for two excellent charities that I already have the pleasure of supporting, CODE and World Literacy of Canada. They work with publishers and local agencies to supply books and learning materials to readers of all ages in developing countries. Here’s the deal: for every dollar you donate, I’ll read (or study Latin) for an hour. If you don’t want to come back in a year and hear me complaining about how little I read in 2009, then be generous! You’ll also have the pleasure of knowing that an eager learner somewhere has access to books because of you.

I have set up a “giving page” at CanadaHelps.org where you can make your donations securely and privately. [Note: You don’t have to be Canadian to donate!] You won’t even be contacted by the charities if you so choose. If you like you can specify which of my ongoing books you want me to read (I might consider new books if the donation is generous enough) and you can also donate anonymously. Naturally I will blog about it all and lavish public praise on my sponsors. I hope you will all be generous, give the gift of reading, and help me finish some books!

I have some more announcements to make for the New Year but I will save those for other posts. Stay tuned . . .

5 comments on “2008: To be continued . . .

  1. JodieJodie says:

    Thanks so much for posting about 'The Year of Readers' here. I like how you've personalised the challenge to suit what you want to achieve next year.

  2. Stefanie says:

    A very eventful year for you! The challenge is a great idea. Instead of giving gifts to our families we make charitable donations. This year one of the donations went to First Book, a US literacy organization that gives books to poor children. I don't think I'll be joining the challenge but perhaps I will make some more donations.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Thank you, Jodie, for challenging us to give something back!
    That's great, Stefanie. And we can't all join the challenge because then there would be no one to sponsor us! πŸ˜‰

  4. Heather says:

    Happy new year!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Happy New Year, Heather!

Comments are closed.