Snowmaggedon: Day 12

I’ve been snowed in for twelve days and counting. This beats the previous record of 9 days, though that experience had the added bonus of a 4-day power outage. So far we have been spared that nicety, but that doesn’t stop us from feeling a bit sorry for ourselves.

This was the state of my car yesterday:

Where's my car?

Note that that was not the first time I had cleared it off. Today I only (?) had 5 inches of new snow to clear off. The accumulation on the ground is about 18 inches, but we’ve had at least twice that in individual snow falls. It just keeps coming. The dogs love it, though:

Where's the ball?

And in those rare moments when the sun comes out, even I have to admit that it’s pretty:

Where's my driveway?

I suppose it’s a small price to pay for living in the forest on a mountain. But I’ll be glad when I can mix with the valley folk again!

16 comments on “Snowmaggedon: Day 12

  1. Susan says:

    Merry Christmas, Sylvia. I wish you could send all that snow down my way. The last time we had snow for Christmas was 27 years ago and that was probably only a couple of inches worth.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I'd love to send you some of our snow! Unfortunately UPS doesn't work on Christmas. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Merry Christmas to you too!

  3. tom says:

    Sylvia, how do you eat? Twelve days? Actually, sounds great!

  4. Sylvia says:

    Hi Tom! This is earthquake country so I am usually pretty stocked up on food just in case. I could probably go on for another month easily, though things would be grim after the olive oil was used up! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Bikkuri says:

    Glad to hear that you are well stocked. City folk don't usually prepare and then wonder who is going to help them out. I love your puppies! They are so cute. I find Rottweilers to be some of the most gentle and loving animals; plus, they're fun to wrestle with. We are melting off down here. Tons of wet slush are falling off the fir trees here – I keep thinking it is Santa landing on the roof.
    Well, off to bed… he'll be here in about half an hour, and I don't want to be skipped. Merry Christmas!

  6. Balkan says:

    The photos are beautiful! Take care!

  7. Sylvia says:

    Bikkuri, they're not my puppiesโ€”we're just good friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I agree, Rotties are great dogs; I adore these two. Here's hoping Santa left something nice for you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks, Balkan. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Danielle says:

    Well, um, it is pretty…..But twelve days is pretty over the top. I hope you can dig out soon! Have a lovely holiday while you wait to be reunited with the rest of civilization!

  9. Stefanie says:

    Snowed in for 12 days? And counting? How do you keep from going crazy? I hope you are able to enjoy some nice reading time. Stay warm and cozy and have a merry Christmas!

  10. Andrew says:

    Merry Christmas. It looks like most of the snow will have been rained away in the next couple of days, though there is a new snowfall warning for Greater Victoria – a whole INCH this morning is expected!!! Compared to the few feet we've had recently, this new warning seems a little pathetic. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Danielle, I hope you have a lovely holiday too!
    Stefanie, who said I wasn't crazy? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Thanks, Andrew. Looks like Santa answered my wish and is bringing warmer temperatures. Merry Christmas to you too!

  12. Dorothy W. says:

    Oh, my. We've had what I think of as a lot of snow lately, but it doesn't compare to that …

  13. Sylvia says:

    It's a bit better now. After a day and half of melting it's down to 14 inches…

  14. Hermana Grande says:

    I think yesterday may have actually been the last day of shovelling show for 2008. (Unlike the previous last day of shovelling, which was followed by another 6 inches of snow.) All told, we probably accumulated about 2 feet in my neighbourhood, so I'm very proud of our clear sidewalk and front steps. I lost a portion of my garden fence and 99% of a mature Fatsia japonica which collapsed with the weight of wet snow. It has two leaves left and a trunk as thick as my arm – think it'll come back?

  15. Hermana Grande says:

    Ooh, and one more thing: when I went to the mall yesterday, I noticed that most of their Xmas lights had been ripped off the eaves/awnings by sliding packs of snow. Mother Nature does not approve of holiday commercialization.

  16. Sylvia says:

    LOL! I don't think she approves of the internal combustion engine either. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Doesn't look good for the Fatsia, considering the cold you got. I guess you'll find out soon enough. Want to come over here and show me your shovelling skills?

Comments are closed.