Take that!

Have you ever wanted to tell somebody off? Dickens shows us how:

‘You are known to me now. There are no reproaches I could heap upon your head which would carry with them one thousandth part of the grovelling shame that this assurance will awaken even in your breast.

‘Your brother’s widow and her orphan child spurn the shelter of your roof, and shun you with disgust and loathing. Your kindred renounce you, for they know no shame but the ties of blood which bind them in name with you.

‘You are an old man, and I leave you to the grave. May every recollection of your life cling to your false heart, and cast their darkness on your death-bed.’

β€”Nicholas Nickleby to his uncle Ralph Nickleby in Charles Dickens, Nicholas Nickleby

I wish I could tell the snow off as effectively…

7 comments on “Take that!

  1. Stefanie says:

    Wow, that made me cringe and it wasn't even directed at me!

  2. Sylvia says:

    I know, it makes TTYN seem kind.

  3. Chuck says:

    If you can get it to work on the snow, you can send it my way. Well, a little of it anyway.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Heh. We'll see… we're supposed to get a blizzard tonight. I'll be happy if the power stays on!

  5. Danielle says:

    Ouch. I wish I could come up with a good put down like that at a moment's notice.

  6. Balkan says:

    Please, some snow my way too!

  7. Sylvia says:

    I'd be happy to send you mine, Balkan! πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.