Another DIY Bookmark

Since we were talking about home-made bookmarks, I thought I’d post a bookmark I created to read War and Peace. After reading Anna Karenina I figured War and Peace would also have numerous characters, place names, and terminology to keep track of. I had used index cards to write those things down for Anna Karenina, but they kept falling out of the book and weren’t terribly practical. So, I created a bookmark to take on the job of temporary notebook.

At the top is room for the title and start and end dates, and then there are sections for people, places, things, and vocabulary. The latter is very handy because I find that if I write down unknown words and their definitions I am far more likely to remember them the next time I see them.

It’s not a terribly beautiful bookmark—mine lives in the endnotes—but I am finding it very handy. I printed mine out on white card stock, but next time I think I’ll use coloured paper or, if I’m feeling creative, add a background image appropriate to the book I’m reading.

If you’d like to try my invention, here are the links to Word and PDF versions:

Download bookmark.doc

Download bookmark.pdf

Bookmark

Bookmark

9 comments on “Another DIY Bookmark

  1. Minnesota A says:

    Ohhhh, you are good!
    Nice. 🙂

  2. This is a fantastic idea… I'm surprised no one thought of it before!! I do have a notebook for my reading, but it is not always handy. What a great solution for this problem!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Thanks! Hmmm, maybe I should patent it? 😉

  4. Stefanie says:

    Sylvia, I had no idea you had such a crafty side to you!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Yes, I also make all my own clothes out of crocheted cat fur… 😉

  6. Hermana Grande says:

    Brilliant! Need more cat fur?

  7. Sylvia says:

    Heh. Not if I can get my hands on a Furminator.

  8. tony says:

    Great idea, and specially useful for all those Russian novels. I also needed something similar for Wuthering Heights, where I found the relationships pretty confusing.

  9. Sylvia says:

    Thanks. It might also be useful for Dickens, if only to keep a record of all the amusing character names. 🙂

Comments are closed.