Bible Marathon Gets Underway

A very special book reading is now taking place at the Basilica di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme, in Rome. For seven days and six nights, the entire Bible will be read out, 24 hours a day, by over 1,200 volunteers in a variety of languages (though Italian will predominate). Bibbia Giorno e Notte (Bible Day and Night) is being broadcast live by RAI to mark the beginning of Synod of Bishops on the Word of God. The setting is absolutely breathtaking (tune in to see), and the reading is made more beautiful with musical performances by an astounding variety of musicians and singers from all over the world. People of all faiths were invited to participate, and the organizers received more than 180,000 offers. Clearly there is an appetite for this sort of event. It all started with a similar pilgrimage through the Bible in Limoges, France, and has since spread to other cities in France and Italy. I wonder how long before it makes its way to this side of the pond?

UPDATE: Er, looks like we crashed the server. The Bible is the best-selling book every year, and apparently it is pretty hot on the interwebs too. Oops.

UPDATE II: The webcast is back online, though it is a bit sketchy at times. If they do this again I hope they get more bandwidth.

Bibbia Giorno e Notte

9 comments on “Bible Marathon Gets Underway

  1. Stefanie says:

    Both new and old testament? I wonder where they got the seven days and six nights idea? πŸ˜‰

  2. Milan says:

    If any serious grammarians are reading this, I have something of a puzzle to solve – one that has so far perplexed several people with degrees in English.
    Basically, it concerns a sentence of this form:
    (Independent clause): X buying cranberries, Y buying sun-dried tomatoes.
    Where X is a young woman and Y is me.
    Which of these is correct?
    * she buying organic cranberries, me buying sun-dried tomatoes
    * she buying organic cranberries, I buying sun-dried tomatoes
    * her buying organic cranberries, me buying sun-dried tomatoes
    * her buying organic cranberries, I buying sun-dried tomatoes
    My first instinct was (her/me), but I decided (she/me) made more sense upon further reflection.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Stefanie, yes the whole thing. I'm not sure where they got the idea of accomplishing a great work in 7 days… πŸ˜‰
    Milan, “she” and “I” sounds right, but I couldn't say why.

  4. Milan says:

    Hmmm.
    Opinion remains both divided and uncertain.

  5. wil says:

    Hmm…I followed your link and got treated to a slightly weird dance troupe, but no biblical reading. Is it over already?

  6. wil says:

    Oops, I didn't check the dates very closely…guess I just missed it…

  7. Sylvia says:

    Too bad, it was interesting, though the slightly weird dance troupe sounds interesting too… πŸ˜‰

  8. Imani says:

    Howdy! I am not reading the Bible from start to finish but I am getting a little taste of it here and there since I started to read “The Pilgrim's Progress”. Riddled with references and allusions, of course. I have this excellent Oxford U annotated version of the New King James — so much lovely bit of extra information on bits of translation, background on a particular book, very exciting! Not enough to get me to read the whole thing but…you know. Maybe Pslams.

  9. Sylvia says:

    Reading the whole KJV would definitely be a chore! Reading a modern translation is challenging enough. I think to get a good sense of it you'd have to read the Pentateuch and the New Testament as well as the psalms. And Job. And Isaiah. And… Oh, why not just read the whole thing? πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.