Canada Still Rocks

Nuvvuagittuq greenstone, 4.28 billion years old
When a good friend sent me a news article about how geologists had discovered the oldest rocks on Earth, I was a little disappointed since the previous oldest known rocks were found in Canada. As it turns out, the new oldest rocks are also located in Canada, in Northern Quebec. Located in the exposed Nuvvuagittuq greenstone belt, these volcanic rocks are 4.28 billion years old. The Earth is about 4.6 billion years old, so that is getting pretty close to being the first rocks ever produced by this planet. And people say Canada is a young country!

5 comments on “Canada Still Rocks

  1. A from Minnesota says:

    Canada does indeed rock. Very cool. πŸ™‚

  2. Stefanie says:

    I suppose now that the ice caps and permafrost are melting things like these will be easier to find up there in the Great White North πŸ˜‰

  3. Sylvia says:

    Perhaps, though from what I understand, it's much easier to get around when the ground is frozen. Otherwise it's just mush. And then there's the bugs…

  4. Perfect! But I would prefer discovering the oldest tree, I think for now they have some 8000 years old pieces in Sweden, I believe we have chance to beat them one day! πŸ™‚
    Ok, but for now I am happy with stones too πŸ˜›
    Take care
    Julie

  5. Sylvia says:

    Julie, as much as I love trees, the idea of being able to touch something that has existed on this planet for almost its entire history just blows my mind!

Comments are closed.