On Reading (in Bed)

Thanks to Book Patrol for mentioning the upcoming re-issue of André Kertész‘ classic photography collection, On Reading. A selection of these wonderful photos of people reading in all sorts of locations is available here. The one below is one of my favourites. Where would the sick be without books?

André Kertész: Hospital de Beau

12 comments on “On Reading (in Bed)

  1. Chuck says:

    Even when I'm not sick I can't sit that upright in bed. Must be a real page-turner!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Or else she wants to hurry up and finish before it's too late! 😉

  3. Stefanie says:

    I like the big bug reading Voltaire 🙂

  4. Sylvia says:

    Too bad it's not reading Kafka. 😉

  5. JCR says:

    OH, thank you for posting this… I am running tomorrow to GET THAT BOOK!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you.
    JCR

  6. Sylvia says:

    You're most welcome. 🙂

  7. wil says:

    Very nice photos.
    (P.S. Did you see the gold medal women's soccer game? USA! USA! USA!)

  8. Sylvia says:

    Heh. Yes, it was a pretty even game, and bound to come down to one lucky goal. Poor Brazil. They wanted it so bad.

  9. びっくり says:

    Where would the sick be without books? Well, in front of the TV, of course! (And getting sicker – or at least less well)
    Did you catch the image of my Japanese equivalent of a bookplate? I put it in my Sunday Soundcheck, but it got slid in behind Monday's post.

  10. Sylvia says:

    Thanks for mentioning the bookplate, I had missed it. Pretty cool to carve your own stamp like that!

  11. Danielle says:

    I found this book in a used bookstore a while back–I thought it was quite a find. I'm glad to see it is being republished. The photos are great and it really should be in print!

  12. Sylvia says:

    Lucky you! And lucky everyone else that it's back in print.

Comments are closed.