Salt Lake City Public Library: "Where Democracy Happens"

Slcpl
Photo Timothy Hursley

“A dynamic civic resource that promotes free and open access to information, materials and services to all members of the community to advance knowledge, foster creativity, encourage the exchange of ideas, build community and enhance quality of life.”

I discovered this gorgeous new library at QuizzyLizzy’s Web 2.0 Experience (perhaps this is Library 2.0?). What makes this one special is the huge public square (really more of a curvy triangle) where people can gather, hold festivals, and listen to lectures at the outdoor amphitheatre. You can also walk along the top of the curved wall at the right of the picture to reach the rooftop garden and enjoy the 360° view. The indoor spaces sound wonderful too, with lots of natural light and views of the Wasach mountains. The library runs programs to bring together diverse groups and to create links with other cultural institutions in the city. They aimed high with this library, and it looks like they hit the bull’s-eye.

You can read more about it at the Salt Lake City Public Library website, and take a tour of the architecture at a weekly dose of architecture. If you’re really lucky you’ll get to go there yourself!

6 comments on “Salt Lake City Public Library: "Where Democracy Happens"

  1. Hermana Grande says:

    But that would mean going to Utah… again …

  2. Sylvia says:

    Don't worry, you won't have to wear the special underwear…

  3. Stefanie says:

    A very beautiful library. I'd be jealous if I didn't think mine was prettier 🙂

  4. Sylvia says:

    Yours also has the best volunteers. 😉

  5. J.D. says:

    What an amazing building! But I don't know if I could handle having it as my local library. When I go to the library, I want something cozier. I don't necessarily want spectacle–some culture, yes, but something smaller and more personal.
    The ambiance strikes me the wrong way, too–it looks museum-like, I guess. Even at my large university library during graduate school I could find a second-floor table among the stacks, a spot where nobody had been for months, and work on my fiction or read stuff nobody but the librarian knew existed.

  6. Sylvia says:

    There is something to be said for a cozy library, though even a big library has its backwaters. I used to like sitting in the wide window ledges behind the stacks at my university library. Nice view, no traffic.

Comments are closed.