Classic Computer

Since I’m in a techie mood lately, I thought I’d post this amazing laptop:

Datamancer's Steampunk Laptop

It’s Datamancer’s Steampunk Laptop. I gather that steampunking is taking something new and making it look Victorian. This computer is fully functional, and you can see a video of it running on the website. Here’s a close-up of the keyboard:

Datamancer's Steampunk Laptop

Isn’t that amazing? Wow. If you like that, check out this Victorian All-in-One PC.

10 comments on “Classic Computer

  1. wil says:

    Very cool…lovely.

  2. Inkslinger says:

    Oooh . . . love that kind of thing!

  3. RfP says:

    I gather that steampunking is taking something new and making it look Victorian.
    Yep. At its most conceptual steampunk is a “what if”, re-imagining technology as if it had emerged straight from a Victorian aesthetic and understanding of technology. There's an air of “How far could that worldview have taken us if we hadn't pursued other developments?” It's also a genre of fiction and, for some, a way of life.
    Datamancer and Jake von Slatt have made other gorgeous computers (Wired Magazine slideshow). I'm hooked–I'm collecting articles on more steampunk gizmos and fashions.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Thanks for the explanation, Rfp. I had never heard of this before.

  5. wil says:

    Never heard of steampunk?!? What sort of a sci-fi fangirl are you? πŸ˜‰

  6. Sylvia says:

    I'm not! That's my sister's job. She's also in charge of opera, birds, and arguing on Ship of Fools. I cover books, soccer, web 2.0, and rottweilers. πŸ˜‰

  7. RfP says:

    I hope you impressed your sister with your newfound knowledge πŸ™‚

  8. Wow! If they make one with a keyboard that looks like our old Underwood, I think I will be compelled to buy. Although, I don't think I'll want to push the metal arm across every time I need a carriage return. πŸ™‚

  9. Sylvia says:

    Yes, there is something to be said for word wrapping!

  10. Sylvia says:

    Rfp, I gave up trying to impress my sister decades ago in favour of bugging her. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.