PBS is Back!

Looks like PBS is finally coming out of its self-help and mouldy oldies phase:

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. — This fall, if PBS president and CEO Paula Kerger has her way, PBS will by synonymous with ARTS. Kerger announced a major initiative at the semi-annual gathering of the
TV Critics Association to boost PBS’s emphasis on the performing arts.

Conventional broadcasters and the specialty channels [i.e. PBS!] have overlooked the performing arts in recent years, Kerger said, and PBS sees an opportunity to fill the void. “My goal is to bring opera, dance and live theatre back to PBS,” Kerger said. “There is a great appetite and interest in the arts that is not being served by the rest of the media.

Being able to bring arts to a much broader audience, particularly those people who don’t have either the resources or the geography to access the arts on their own, is what public television was envisioned as doing when it was first created. I feel very strongly about that.”

As part of its new arts initiative, PBS will broadcast the full Royal Shakespeare Company performance of Shakespeare’s King Lear, directed by Trevor Nunn and featuring Sir Ian McKellen, in the fall. The performance marks McKellen’s return to the RSC after a 17-year hiatus.

Kerger said PBS’s new arts emphasis will encompass ballet, modern dance, opera, regional theatre, performance art and jazz, folk, rhythm & blues, classical and Latin music recitals.

more…

I can’t wait. I’ll know the reconquista is complete when they put the “theatre” back in “Masterpiece Theatre.” Go Paula!

8 comments on “PBS is Back!

  1. Carrie K says:

    I'd like to see more plays, but my local PBS stations are already airing operas and concerts. Just no more specious “updated” classics is all I ask. (Well, not *all* but I don't want to frighten her.)
    I hear that Kenneth Branagh will be starring in a detective series on PBS.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Good old KQED. I used to watch it at my grandma's. I agree about the “updated” classics. Those new Jane Austens were awful (with the possible exception of Sense and Sensibility). More Kenneth Brannagh is a good thing. 🙂

  3. Imani says:

    Happy Birthday to us all! I look forward to having PBS on my TV screen more often.

  4. Stefanie says:

    Woo hoo! I couldn't get tickets when McKellen was in town. So glad I will still get to see the play on PBS!

  5. This is super news~WOOHOOO! We happen to love “Master P's” Theatre around here…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. びっくり says:

    I hope everything is chugging along well there. I'm not used to seeing a week of no posts. May the summer heat be bearable and may your health and energy be renewed repeatedly. I look forward to reading more.

  7. Sylvia says:

    Yes, I've been sidelined by various household projects lately and am likely to continue that way for a while… Thank you for the well-wishes!

Comments are closed.