Dipping in Brighton

In 1750 Dr Richard Russell published a book in which he announced a startling new discovery: dipping the body in salt water helped cure certain diseases. A rush to the sea began which has never stopped. At first it was entirely for medical reasons. Invalids were seized and dipped in salt water by muscular female ‘dippers’ and ‘bathers’…

—Mark Girouard, Historic Houses of Britain

As somewhat of an invalid myself I find the idea of being seized and dipped into the North Atlantic rather alarming, but as I reader I found this passage quite funny. This book seems to be full of the dry British wit that I enjoy so much. Who knew that a musty old coffee table book could be so amusing?

This entry was posted in History.

3 comments on “Dipping in Brighton

  1. Carrie K says:

    I'm glad that “cure” was out of vogue during my childhood infirmities.
    What diseases exactly did it cure, I wonder?

  2. びっくり says:

    I rather like the idea of being put in the salt water by a muscular female. So long as she didn't try to drown me or anything.
    Sorry, I haven't been finding the time to keep up on blog reading. Always a joy to see what you have going on.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Carrie, I'm not sure but the original work was titled “Glandular Diseases, or a Dissertation on the Use of Sea Water in the Affections of the Glands.”
    I was wondering who would say that, Bikkuri. 😉 Thanks for dropping by.

Comments are closed.