¡Viva España! ¡Viva El Niño!

It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s Fernando Torres!

El Niño

The final of the European championship was action-packed, but it only took one goal to decide the outcome, and that goal was scored by El Niño, Fernando Torres of Spain.

Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooool!!!

Spain dominated the match with their fast passing style and had twelve shots on goal to Germany’s three. Germany did have a spurt of attack at the beginning of the second half, but it wasn’t nearly enough. They were outclassed and Spain very much deserve to be the new European champions.

Goalie Iker Casillas raises the trophy

N.B. Scotland was not in the match. They were not even in the tournament. They obviously know how to score great seats, though!

10 comments on “¡Viva España! ¡Viva El Niño!

  1. Stefanie says:

    When I heard Spain had beat Germany I guessed you had been watching 🙂

  2. Chuck says:

    Now that it's over does this mean you're back for a while?

  3. Sylvia says:

    Yes. At least until the Olympic football tournament… 😉

  4. Balkan says:

    I did not miss a single game, myself. For me, the best one was Russia vs Holland, but Spain deserved the title! Looking forward to OG next month.

  5. Sylvia says:

    I watched the whole thing too. You're right, Russia-Holland was a great game. There are great things ahead for Russia, especially if they can hang on to Hiddink for a while.

  6. wil says:

    I was in Switzerland recently and could hear the shouts of fans as they watched the games on big screen tv's in the sports bars — saw lots of fan flags hanging from apartment balconies as well.

  7. Sylvia says:

    Ah, so that's where you've been!

  8. una española orgullosa says:

    I watched the final with thousands of people on the beach of my city, Alicante. I'm Spanish, and this is the first time I've seen Spanish people so united (we are always arguing about something: politics, religion, etc.)

  9. Sylvia says:

    What a wonderful place to watch the game! It's nice to hear that it brought people together there. 🙂

Comments are closed.