Dante’s Inferno Test

I saw this morally challenging quiz at So Many Books. Where would you end up in Dante’s Inferno? Though Dante’s theology is questionable, I’m glad to learn I’m headed for:

Purgatory

You have escaped damnation and made it to Purgatory, a place where the dew of repentance washes off the stain of sin and girds the spirit with humility. Through contrition, confession, and satisfaction by works of righteousness, you must make your way up the mountain. As the sins are cleansed from your soul, you will be illuminated by the Sun of Divine Grace, and you will join other souls, smiling and happy, upon the summit of this mountain. Before long you will know the joys of Paradise as you ascend to the ethereal realm of Heaven.

I wasn’t sure how to answer the question about taking pleasure in other people’s misery. Does laughing at Eastern Canadians when they get blizzards count?

Dante’s Inferno Test

10 comments on “Dante’s Inferno Test

  1. wil says:

    Umm…uhh…let's just say I placed lower than you did.

  2. J.D. says:

    I'm not ashamed; I've been banished to the second level of hell — or would be at this point.
    There's always hope. Perhaps some Beatrice or another will see fit to send me some heavenly aid. John Lennon?

  3. Sylvia says:

    Repent! Repeeeeeeeeeent!!!

  4. Chuck says:

    Does laughing at Eastern Canadians when they get blizzards count?
    That depends on how far east!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Uh, only as far as Fredericton! πŸ˜‰

  6. Stefanie says:

    On your way to paradise, eh? Do stop by limbo for a visit before you go. I'll introduce you to Socrates and the gang πŸ™‚

  7. Sylvia says:

    Heh. Limbo actually sounds quite interesting. I'll make sure to swing by on my way upstairs. πŸ˜‰

  8. JCR says:

    Dear friend:
    I haven't written you in a while, I am very sorry… I just came back from a trip to China so I am still a little jetlagged… I think I spent my time in limbo already… but… who knows…

  9. Jill says:

    I regret to inform you that I've been consigned to the third level.

  10. Sylvia says:

    I hope you can still blog from there! πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.