Six Word Memoir Meme

Bikkuri posted an interesting meme which originated with this NPR article. The meme is simple: write your biography in six words, with the option of posting an image to go with it. You can post one or as many as you like.

There is a biographical question that people here always ask almost as soon as they meet me, though they never ask it directly. What they say is, “Where are you from?” What they mean is:

What is my race? Mostly Mexican.

RatΓ³na de Biblioteca

If I’m feeling fractious I will name the Canadian town where I grew up and watch my interlocutor wrestle internally with whether or not to enquire further into my parentage, but usually I relent and tell them where I was born. I don’t think I would be asked this question in the US, but people up here aren’t exposed to a lot of Mexicans so they can’t categorize me, and categorize they must, apparently.

As for me, I think my real six-word memoir is pretty simple:

Trying to do the right thing.

UPDATE: Oops! I almost forgot to tag people. Of course anyone can play, but I’d be interested to see the six-word memoirs of Stefanie, Danielle, wil, turtlebella, verbivore, and Gene.

17 comments on “Six Word Memoir Meme

  1. Kristin says:

    I remember hearing about this on NPR a few weeks back. I guess mine would be:
    Student teacher, so much to learn.

  2. Sylvia says:

    That's a good one, Kristin!

  3. Gene says:

    False Pride entered;
    Foolishness came out.
    What an adorable child in the picture!

  4. Sylvia says:

    I was pretty darn cute, if I may say so myself.

  5. wil says:

    I have to agree with you — you're so cute! πŸ™‚
    Now to sum up my life in six words…hmmm…

  6. Sylvia says:

    That's only one word, Wil.

  7. verbivore says:

    I think this one is fun – I will see what I can come up with. πŸ™‚ Only six words….that'll be tough

  8. Stefanie says:

    Only six words? Oy. You're going to make me think! Such a cute picture of your little girl self Sylvia! And I like your memoir too.

  9. Nice memoir. Nice photo. So, now I am curious. I seem to recall you posting comments that indicated an ancestor in the Buffalo Soldiers. I assumed you were mostly black. Whatever your lineage, it blended well to create such a cute girl.

  10. Sylvia says:

    No, I'm a descendant of their general, seen here.

  11. Danielle says:

    Hmm. I am going to have to think about this one. Only six words? Very cute photo, and I think you're right–I went to school with kids of all sorts of backgrounds and it would never have entered my mind to think they were from anywhere but here.

  12. yolanda says:

    Mine would be very similar to yours. LIked this one you did and the photo to go with it. thanks for sharing with us.

  13. Sylvia says:

    Danielle, I think in Canada there is still the idea that anyone brown must be from somewhere else, even if they have no accent (like me). This is especially true where I live, which is very caucasian. I was usually the only person with black hair in my university classes! Things are bit more diverse now, though.
    Hi Yolanda! Thanks for visiting. πŸ™‚

  14. LK says:

    These are so good.
    That is such a delightful photo!

  15. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, LitKitten!

  16. Ted says:

    Great idea, Sylvia. I'm tempted to steal it (with credit to you, of course).

  17. Sylvia says:

    By all means!

Comments are closed.