Reading Reminders for 2008

Alas, 2007 was not a banner year for reading. I fell off every bandwagon and read a measly 25 books, several of which were lightweight. Mea culpa. Next year will be different. (Really! (I mean it!!)) Here’s what I’d like to accomplish in 2008:

  • Since there are only 24 hours in the day, spend fewer of them online. Needs must.
  • Get back on the Latin bandwagon. One chapter a week. Etiamsi me necat*.
  • Finish The Trivium before the ghost of Sister Miriam whacks me on the hands with her ruler.
  • Get back on the Don Quixote burro. Two chapters a week, minimum.
  • Read War & Peace. Because it’s there.
  • Study Gilgamesh and The Egyptian Book of the Dead in depth.
  • If I manage that, do some Torah/Tanakh study. (Suggestions?)
  • ReadA History of Reading and/or The Golden Thread.
  • Read Discovering Girard and What About Hitler?
  • Read some more Shakespeare.

That should keep me out of trouble for a while. Come on 2008!

UPDATE: I almost forgot. 2008 is the UN International Year of Planet Earth, so I plan to do some reading in geoscience. Anyone care to join me?


* If it kills me.

14 comments on “Reading Reminders for 2008

  1. Danielle says:

    I like that you call these reminders and not goals (I might have to borrow that)! Two chapters of DQ a week is very do-able without going overboard! And I'd like to reread War and Peace (since I'm scared that I've already forgotten so much), but it isn't going to happen next year I bet. That online time does tend to cut into reading time, doesn't it. I think about that myself a lot. And I'm with you on reading more Shakespeare and reading The History of Reading. Good luck with your plans!

  2. wil says:

    You go grrl!

  3. wil says:

    BTW, 25 books is not “measly”!

  4. Sylvia says:

    Well, one of them was the entire Bible. Technically that's 72 books… πŸ˜‰

  5. Stefanie says:

    Geoscience? Have anything particular in mind? Are you thinking hardcore or something more along the lines of McPhee or Winchester's Kraktoa?

  6. Sylvia says:

    Stay tuned for more on this… (and thanks for the suggestions!)

  7. Christopher says:

    I concur that 25 books is a solid effort, I like your modest list for 2008, I posted one similar to yours. Kudos on reading more Shakespeare!

  8. Bookjive,com says:

    Thanks for listing your reading goals for 2008. This made me realize to do the same for the coming year. And yes, more Shakespeare and some readings on “green earth” would be nice to include in my own list.

  9. Dorothy W. says:

    I like your “reminder” about spending less time online — I need to work on that too, most definitely.

  10. Chuck says:

    Criminy, I wish I'd read only 25 books. I haven't read one in the last three months.

  11. Sylvia says:

    Yes, but how many operas, symphonies, and oratorios have you listened to? Plenty, I'll bet.

  12. Imani says:

    Coincidentally, I rang in the new year with (another) return to Don Quixote. Two chapters a week, eh?
    Good luck with your reminders! I'd like to read what you have to say about the Manguel book.

  13. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Imani. I'm looking forward to Manguel. I'm sure he won't disappoint.

Comments are closed.