10 Questions

A new meme via Stefanie, invented by Kimbootku.

1. Hardcover or paperback, and why?

I prefer hardcovers for reference books and favourites, but otherwise I tend to stick with trade paperbacks. Often they are the only editions in print of the books I want.

2. If I were to own a book shop I would call it:

I don't know. Maybe something simple like Letters.

3. My favourite quote from a book (mention the title) is:

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.” (Ps. 37)

Oh, you mean other than the Bible? Perhaps, “And now we shan't be parted no more, and that's finished.” (Maurice)

4. The author (alive or dead) I would love to have lunch with would be:

Margaret Atwood, preferably at her cottage on the lake.

5. If I was going to a deserted island and could only bring one book, except for the SAS survival guide, it would be:

I'll give you a hint. It starts with a “B”… If I was allowed three books I'd probably take Jane Eyre. Her indomitable spirit would get me through.

6. I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that:

Looked up words in the OED. And was solar-powered. Perhaps such a gizmo exists; I haven't looked for it.

7. The smell of an old book reminds me of:

Either home or school libraries, and the pleasure of quietly perusing shelves full of books.

8. If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title), it would be:

Elizabeth Bennet (I don't think I need to give the title). Who wouldn't want to be fabulously wealthy and married to a handsome and honourable man?

9. The most overestimated book of all times is:

I can't say since I haven't read all the highly estimated books of all time. So far I haven't met one that didn't deserve the credit it gets.

10. I hate it when a book:

Has endnotes, rather than footnotes. I've said it before and I'll say it again: When I am Queen of the Universe, endnotes will be outlawed, and transgressors will be sentenced to 6 months hard labour writing book jacket copy.

I nominate Imani, Nick, Bikkuri, Wil, and Chuck (if you're not too busy studying and listening to Wagner) to give your answers. Anyone else who wants to play is more than welcome to do so.

20 comments on “10 Questions

  1. Mella DP says:

    The Bible seems to me the reasonable answer to #5, anyway – ignoring any religious sensibilities (which one shouldn't), where else do you get that amount of literary variety per unit of binding?

  2. Stefanie says:

    Will you please hurry up and become Queen of the Universe? I will not miss endnotes. Footnotes are so much nicer.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Hi Mella! Definitely, the Bible is a book for all moods.
    Stefanie: I'm working on it. Campaign contributions are always welcome… πŸ˜‰

  4. Dorothy W. says:

    I agree with you about endnotes, most definitely. I'm laughing at the thought of both of us on our desert islands reading the Bible and coming to very different conclusions about it …

  5. wil says:

    Fun meme. But didn't you argue a while back that the Bible is a collection of books? πŸ˜‰

  6. LK says:

    Nice choice on Elizabeth Benett!

  7. Sylvia says:

    Dorothy: Yup, we could certainly keep each other busy for a long while! πŸ˜€ It reminds me of this.
    Wil: Shhhhhhh!!
    LitKitten: I could have gone with Anne Elliot but living on a warship doesn't sound like much fun.

  8. turtlebella says:

    If you find that OED gadget, let me know! πŸ™‚ My husband would get a big kick out of that. (We don't even have the OED, but now that we have a house & space for it, it's on my gift list for him).

  9. A says:

    I'll tell you what the most overestimated book of all time is:
    Anything by James Joyce. Especially Ulysses.

  10. Sylvia says:

    I've heard that elsewhere too. Still, I'm curious to know what all the fuss is about.

  11. Danielle says:

    Sylvia–I have to chuckle on your response to LK. I actually considered Anne Elliott as I liked the idea of living on a warship, though I don't imagine she get to have any of the fun! And Captain Wentworth was so dashing!! I have to agree with the whole footnote endnote thing. I'm reading a book where the words they want you to refer to the endnotes in the back only have asterisks, and the notes in the back are numbered. Now what on earth were they thinking??? By the time you find the right note, you've lost the thread of the story!

  12. Sylvia says:

    Heh. You do have a thing for seafarers, don't you!
    Asterisks are definitely evil. I also hate it when they give the chapter number but not the title in the endnotes. You have to either keep track of what chapter you're on or flip back to the beginning of the chapter to get the number. Grrrr.

  13. Well, I feel that 'memes' are a little silly. That said: this one has definitely been amusing and informative. Since I have been formally invited, and having returned from my foray into the big city, I will give it some thought and write up my replies. This will be my first time.
    I was confused by the OED device. I love the Online Etymology Dictionary, so that was the first thing to jump to mind. In hindsight, I guess you meant the Oxford English Dictionary.
    The endnote/footnote discussion is interesting. I once got to spend a weekend with Earl Radmacher, the general editor of the Nelson Study Bible. He mentioned the reasoning for putting all the cross-references, explanatory notes, and various other educational bits at the bottom of the pages. He wanted to avoid people being distracted from the inspired words to study man's words. Once people flip to the back of a Bible to study supplementary materials there is a strong chance they get lost there. If one can glance down at a note and then right back to the main text, the probability lies in favor of continuing the study.

  14. Sarah says:

    I hear you on the endnotes! I much prefer footnotes (I often use them too often myself). I prefer to glance at the foot of the page to see of the note is worth pursuing rather than flipping back and forth. Because as much as I'd like to ignore the little number or the asterik, I always feel compelled to check the notes…
    And I like your gadget idea! πŸ™‚

  15. OK, I have done it. Here's my meme. I hope I did a decent job. Now, I can get some sleep and write about my chance encounters with Hakuhou, French maids, and people who worship me. All of these encounters came from one weekend in Tokyo.

  16. Sylvia says:

    Bikkuri: Of course memes are silly! What's your point?
    Thanks for playing. πŸ™‚

  17. Hermana Grande says:

    1. Hardcover or paperback, and why?
    Paperback for weight, hardcover for durability.
    2. If I were to own a book shop I would call it…
    Cat's Cradle
    3. My favourite quote from a book (mention the title) is…
    “Despair is only for those who can see all ends.” LOTR
    4. The author (alive or dead) I would love to have lunch with would be ….
    David Brin, SF author
    5. If I was going to a deserted island and could only bring one book, except for the SAS survival guide, it would be…
    LOTR
    6. I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that….
    … uses anti-gravity suspensors to hold your book at the perfect angle and distance, keeps it flat, and turns the page automatically when you nod.
    7. The smell of an old book reminds me of….
    … the tropics.
    8. If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title), it would be….
    … Emma Woodhouse, who is handsome, clever and rich, and has no inducements to marry.
    9. The most overestimated book of all times is….
    … The English Patient. Perhaps I wasn't patient enough.
    10. I hate it when a book….
    … is bound so tightly that you have to tilt it back and forth to read the words as they run into the gutter.

  18. Sylvia says:

    #6 makes me think I wasn't the only one to inherit the lazyness gene… You're so right about #10.

  19. Froguette Mi Note says:

    The OED gadget exists on Mac:
    – as a standard widget (gadget) which has been delivered with the machine since OS 10.4.
    – It is also integrated to Mac OS 10.4 as a standalone application, called “Dictionary”, which by default proofs-reads everything you type in English.
    Hope this helps.

  20. Sylvia says:

    Thanks, Froguette. I meant the complete 20-volume OED with full definitions, etymology, and historical references. I would also want it in a small, hand-held device that I could take wherever I happen to be reading.

Comments are closed.