What’s In Your Bag?

I think one of the first things I came across in the blogosphere was a “what’s in your bag?” meme. As a packing enthusiast (I dream about it, have lists, have blogged about it), this was right up my alley, but as I didn’t have a blog yet I couldn’t participate. Now I am inspired by the same type of meme at Lifehacker to finally reveal to the world the contents of what I call my Urban Survival Kit.

Bag

From top to bottom, left to right:

  • MEC “Travel All” β€” just enough pockets and compartments to keep things civilized
  • Nalgene water bottle (with a spigot so I can drink easily while driving; at the moment it is half ice to counter the warm weather)
  • map of designated disabled parking spaces downtown (though I rarely go there)
  • disabled parking permit (rarely used but a real life saver on bad days)
  • insurance papers (so if my car gets stolen the bad guys won’t get my personal information)
  • spare car key (yes, I have used it, once)
  • wallet (with as few cards as possible)
  • Creative Zen Xtra 30GB mp3 player (hooks into my car stereo)
  • Moleskine Volant notebook (discontinued)
  • Sennheiser earbuds
  • Staedtler Silver Ball 404 pen (i.e. a cheap pen I don’t mind losing)
  • Missalette (daily scripture readings for the Mass) with church bulletin (if I ever need the last rites they’ll know which priest to call!)
  • plastic shopping bag (I’m trying to cut back on how many of those things I bring home)
  • label for a Spanish lavender variety that I want to get more of
  • library card (kept in an outer pocket so I don’t have to fish through my wallet for it)
  • Gerber pocket knife (very light but hard to close without putting fingers in harm’s way)
  • band-aid (haven’t had to use it yet, but see above)
  • mini tape measure (very handy)
  • paper clip (for rebooting my Zen if it crashes, which isn’t often)
  • handkerchief (am I the only person who still uses them?)
  • Pepto Bismol caplets (for when my intestines do their diva act)
  • lip balm
  • mint oil (to wake up my brain; kind of important while on the road)
  • not shown (oops): Elev8Me energy bar (not too sweet, made of real food)

I should probably get some kind of teeny flashlight but I haven’t bothered yet. The whole arrangement weighs about 3.5 pounds, and there is just enough room left over for a pocketbook, my car stereo faceplate (if I’m parked in a less-than-genteel neighbourhood), or other small items.

Only one question remains: What’s in your bag?

6 comments on “What’s In Your Bag?

  1. wil says:

    Love the meme, but I don't have a “bag” per se β€” I'm a minimalist. My errand-running gear usually consists of a Klean Kanteen (100% bisphenol free!), my paper-thin wallet (it's literally paper thin – made of treated paper), my keys, and canvas grocery bags. Optionally, I might bring along my rarely-used cellphone and/or my Zune (my Creative Zen Xtra recently died on me. I decided to try something new, but I'm not entirely thrilled with the Zune).

  2. Sylvia says:

    That is minimalist indeed! I'm surprised my Zen hasn't died yet. I think it's 4 years old, and it's well used. I almost want it to croak so I can get one of the newfangled models.

  3. Stefanie says:

    You go out prepared Sylvia! If I am running errands I usually take nothing more than my wallet, keys, and canvas shopping bags. My bike bag I carry back and forth to work is where all my “stuff” hangs out.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Take that, Wil. Not even a water bottle!

  5. wil says:

    I forgot to mention: just this year, the wife and I switched to using handkerchiefs. So, no, you're not alone.

  6. Matt says:

    Very interesting meme. I'll have to rummage through my bag and take the inventory. πŸ™‚ Usually a book and a wallet.

Comments are closed.