CAPTCHA Nightmares

I’ve mentioned before that I hate CAPTCHA so much that I will rarely bother to leave a comment on a Blogger blog because of it. I have to really like a person before I will put myself through the frustrating exercise of deciphering those stupid garbled letters. Little did I know that it can actually get worse. Check out some of these CAPTCHA nightmares. (My favourite is the Russian one.)

via Captchuck (No Fixed Address)

9 comments on “CAPTCHA Nightmares

  1. Nick says:

    Thanks for the laugh! I'm not real fond of Captcha either; but I have to admit I love this innovative idea:
    ReCaptcha

  2. SamHouston says:

    Wow, those are tough. I hate that system, too, and really have a tough time when they run a series of strangely shaped letters that have a “v” next to a “w.” I can almost never tell which of the two letters comes first. πŸ™‚

  3. Milan says:

    CAPTCHAs are definitely annoying but, as someone who runs a number of websites beseiged by spam, I am glad they exist.
    Particularly if they could put a stop to all the spam blogs Google is hosting, they would be a pain worth dealing with.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Milan, if you host your own blogs you might be interested in ReCaptcha (see link in Nick's comment).

  5. JaneFan says:

    Argh! I hate them too! It always takes me two or three tries, no matter how diligently I try to decipher them. I think some are “handicapped-accessible” though, in that there is a link next to them that will read the letters to you.

  6. turtlebella says:

    Oh my goodness, those are BAD.
    They do drive me nutty on a daily basis. I always have to re-type.

  7. Imani says:

    Hahahahahaha! I love the “pick three non-manmade images”. Brilliant. When I saw this post pop at Metaxucafe I headed straight to my blogger dashboard to make sure I didn't have it activated at any of the challenge blogs. :p I may enable moderation before I add those stupid captcha things.

  8. Sylvia says:

    Chuck: Just having a bit of fun…

Comments are closed.