Why I Blog Meme

Stefanie kindly tagged me for the “Five Reasons Why I Blog” meme and I’m afraid I am going to say pretty much the same thing that everyone else has! Well, birds of a feather do stick together. Here’s my particular variation on the book blogger’s plumage:

  1. When I discovered the litblogosphere in 2004 I decided that a blog would be a great way to share all the cool and useful book-related links that I had collected during my internet travels. It’s sort of like bringing something to the pot-luck. I didn’t know whether my conversation would be enough to keep people interested after that but I thought I’d try anyway.
  2. Due to my illness I can’t get out much, so socializing online is perfect for me. But I have my standards. I dabbled in chat rooms (ugh!) and listservs, but they have a tendency to get uncivil or too intimate too fast. I like the blogosphere because you can (to some extent) get to know a person through their archives. Having everything out in public introduces an element of accountability that I like. And I don’t have to tell you all that book bloggers are wonderful people!
  3. Another reason I started blogging was to work out the details of my new reading ambitions. As I wrote way back at the beginning, I was raised and educated to be a scientist and I have come to feel like I missed out on a lot, namely the liberal arts. This blog is a way to organize my reading, get feedback, and motivate myself to actually do it! I always give myself a hard time for not doing more but I suspect I’d be doing much less were it not for this blog and the community around it, so I’m grateful for it and for all of you.
  4. As others have pointed out, blogging is just plain fun! There’s the social aspect, which is great, but I also like the techie side. In fact I like it too much and am planning to downgrade my Typepad account so I will no longer be tempted to spend all day fiddling with my CSS!
  5. Blogging also helps me to organize my thoughts about my reading. Early on in this journey I was exposed to the idea that discussing and writing about books is essential to understanding them. Writing and discussing online are ideal for me because it gives my impaired brain time to get organized. I’d be hopeless in a real-life book group due to my memory problems, but with blogging I can take my time and eventually things come and connections are made.

I could go on. Blogging has enriched my life in so many ways. What pains me most about my disability is that it prevents me from making any contribution to the world. Blogging gives me a way to contribute, in however small a way, and that means a lot to me. If I make one person laugh or lead one person to something that interests them, that just makes my day. Blogging isn’t the only thing I do to try to participate in the world, but it’s certainly a big part of my life with ME/CFS and I can’t imagine doing without it, whatever my condition. Long live the blog!

Well, if you’ve gotten this far, consider yourself tagged! Why do you blog?

9 comments on “Why I Blog Meme

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    Great answers! I can see why blogging is so important for you. I'm glad you are doing it!

  2. Stefanie says:

    I enjoyed reading your answers Sylvia. You always find such interesting links and have things to say about books that add one more facet to my understanding. I'd really miss you if you ever stopped blogging!

  3. wil says:

    Well, it's good to know you have some standards. ;-P
    But seriously, no stylesheet access?!? That's hard to wrap my mind around.

  4. Imani says:

    You definitely provided a unique take on the usual answers. I don't have such special circumstances to share, it would just be repetitive. Your answers have encouraged me to post a quite from Lectures on Literature by Nabokov. He has a few definite ideas on what makes a good reader, some of which I'm not sure I agree with, but they're worth considering.
    I love your blog. It's such a great resource, esp. for everything classical!

  5. Sylvia says:

    Thanks everyone. πŸ™‚ And Wil, my standards are somewhat flexible. I have been known to hobnob with novelists…

  6. Chuck says:

    You have a great blog, and what thoughtful reasons for writing it! Without it, I probably wouldn't be the Wagnerian I am today. I owe it all to you. πŸ™‚

  7. Sylvia says:

    Well, I'm not sure that's a good thing but I'll take it. πŸ˜‰

  8. Danielle says:

    I like your answers. I especially like what you say at the end about contributing something the world. I think about that sometimes, and I do think that this blog voice is a “presence” that is important to other people who come and read and would miss it if it wasn't there.

  9. john says:

    I like your answers very much. And your blog is a marvel!
    I have been worrying about the state of the world and the role of the internet in that world – I have my doubts about our (bloggers) effectiveness – I still blog daily however!! here are my thoughts…
    The Internet is a place where the thoughtful, the radical, the opinionated and the perverse can express themselves freely with the potential audience of millions but only ever an actual audience of one. Whereas, in the past, radical voices may have been vented in the midst of a gathering of excitable people and that group may have formed a mob, a protest, a rally, now such voices are read in the privacy of one’s home or office to be emailed, if stirring, to another single identity sitting with their slippers on and a mug of hot chocolate by their side. By giving dissenters the biggest possible audience, we have silenced dissent. http://www.justdoitwell.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.